Source types: arts: 1. Primary sources

Primary sources: are works that are written based off of first hand experience, including original artistic work, work pertaining to a place and time, personal documents, or research data.

Primary sources in arts can be subdivided into a number of categories, including:

1. Original artistic works:

• paintings
• photographs
• music scores
• novels
• poems
• sculptures
• scripts

2. Documents pertaining to a happening or event

• hansard (debate transcripts)
• photographs
• speeches

3. Documents pertaining to a place and time

• newspapers
• maps

4. Personal documents

• daybooks
• diaries
• emails
• letters

5. Research data 

• log books
• raw data

Note: While primary sources are often created directly at the time of an event, later created sources such as autobiographies, memoirs, or oral histories are all considered primary sources (Primary Sources at Yale, 2022).

Adapted from: University of Toronto Libraries, University of California Libraries, Reference and User Services Association, Queen's University Library, and Yale University.

A database is an electronic collection of sources, which may contain:

• articles
• book chapters
• citations
• electronic books
• indexes
• journals

Databases often hold a variety of sources catalogued and easily searchable through a user friendly interface. The University of Waterloo subscribes to over 400 diverse databases which hold a variety of types of sources, including primary, secondary, and tertiary sources. 

Adapted from: Rider University. 

You can find primary sources through the University of Waterloo Library Database page by selecting 'primary sources' from the middle drop down menu.

Other helpful links to primary sources at the University of Waterloo:

• Use the following link to access the University of Waterloo Special Collection and Archives Digital Library
• Use the following link to access the University of Waterloo Special Collection and Archives Webpage

Primary sources give an unique perspective into the past by providing first hand experiences from a particular time or event. Primary sources are therefore extremely valuable, but should always be critically evaluated for accuracy of information and bias. 

Adapted from Library of Congress.

Use the following links to help with citing various primary sources:

• Library of Congress Guide on MLA Citation for Primary Sources
• University of Waterloo Citation Guides

Or, use a citation software to organize your bibliography. Get started by using this helpful guide on Endnote, RefWorks, and Zotero by the University of Waterloo Library:

• Reference Management Software at University of Waterloo 

Useful module created by the University of Waterloo and held within the Online Learning Object Repository (OLOR):

• Waterloo's OLOR for Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Literature