Spanish and Latin American Studies: Dictionaries

Print dictionaries

Monolingual Dictionaries

• Diccionario académico de la lengua

• Diccionario manual e ilustrado de la lengua española

• Gran diccionario general de la lengua española

Bilingual Dictionaries

• Martínez, Agustín. Multicultural Spanish Dictionary.

Business Spanish

• Barandiarán, Rafael. Diccionario de términos financieros.

• Diccionario bilingüe de seguros = Bilingual Insurance Dictionary.

• Diccionario bilingüe de términos bursátiles = Bilingual Securities Dictionary.

• Lozano Irueste, José Maríá. Diccionario bilingüe de economíá y empresa: inglés-español, español-inglés.

• Routledge Spanish Dictionary of Business, Commerce, and Finance = Diccionario Inglés de negocios, comercio y finanzas.

Etymology

• Corominas, Joan. Diccionario crítico etimológico castellano e hispánico.

Grammar and Usage

• Dominicis, Maria Canteli. Repase y escriba: curso avanzado de gramática y composición.

• Stein, Gail. Webster’s New World Spanish Grammar Handbook.

• Whitley, Melvin Stanley. Gramática para la composición.

Idioms

• Brown, Lawrence Kronseld. A Thesaurus of Spanish Idioms and Everyday Language.

• Harrap’s Diccionario de expresiones idiomáticas: Inglés-Español/Español-Inglés = Dictionary of Idioms: English-Spanish/Spanish-English.

• Miller, J Dale. 1,000 Spanish Idioms.

Jargon

• Carbonell Basset, Delfín. Breve diccionario coloquial español e inglés.

  • Orthography and Spelling

• Gramática y ortografía al día

Quotations

• Goicoechea Romano, Cesáreo. Diccionario de citas.

• Ramage, Craufurd Tait. Familiar Quotations from German and Spanish Authors.

Synonyms and Antonyms

• Harrap’s Spanish Synonyms: Bilingual Dictionary of Synonyms and Antonyms.

Verbs

• Pittman, Elsa. Webster's New World 575+ Spanish verbs.

Online

• Real Academia Española (RAE)

  • Site of the official royal institution responsible for overseeing the Spanish language. Links to a number of dictionaries, grammar sources, etc.

• Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary 

  • English-Spanish

  • Spanish-English

• lexicool.com

  • A directory of online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries freely available on the Internet.

• The Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary (English-Spanish) 

• The Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary (Spanish-English)

• Strictly Spanish: Spanish translation & language resources

  • Includes glossaries, dictionaries, etc. 

• Verbix - Romance Languages: Spanish: Spanish Verb Conjugator v.2.0

• BBC Languages Spanish

  • Sharpen your Spanish language skills.

• BBC Languages Portuguese

  • Sharpen your Portugueses language skills.

• 300 Proverbios y Refranes / Proverbs and Sayings

• WordReference.com: Online Language Dictionaries

  • Links to Oxford dictionaries plus each entry is also linked to online linguistic forum.

• yourDictionary.com