We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Digital diaries & letters
- British and Irish Women's Letters and DiariesFull text of works from of over 400 women. Coverage also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography.
Coverage: 1500 - 1950 - British Literary Manuscripts OnlineFacsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters, diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works.
Coverage: 1150 - 1900 - Electronic Capito ProjectLetters from and to Wolfgang Capito.
Coverage: 1507 - 1541 - Perdita ManuscriptsThese manuscripts were written or compiled by women in the British Isles. Find transcriptions and images of all manner of writing from account book entries, diaries, essays, hymns, and more
Coverage: 16th - 17th centuries - Mass Observation OnlineReports, surveys, diaries, photographs, maps, and essays related to social research. Geographical area: Britain.
Coverage: 1930s - 1970s - Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal NarrativesFind diaries, letters, biographies, oral histories, government documents, videos, and periodicals, and more originating from the United States, Canada, and Europe. Scholarly commentary also included.
Coverage: 1960-1974
The image below is from the opening page of "Some Specialties in the Life of M. Warwick", handwritten by Mary Rich, Lady Warwick, one of the women whose works are featured in the Perdita Manuscripts.
Use Omni, the Library's catalogue to find diaries & letters/correspondence
Our libraries purchase print and electronic diaries and letters that have been published. These versions can have helpful annotations, include transcriptions (from handwritten to type set), and, in the case of print copies, can be checked out of the Library.
Try the search strategy below. For any print versions you retrieve, you can go to book stacks/shelves to review and check out or request them to be delivered to a library of your choice.