We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Welcome to researching Modern Protest Movements
The sections on this page will help you find and evaluate resources for your research essay.
- Omni, the library catalogue
- for articles and books
- Library databases
- for articles, books, and primary sources
- Research guides by subject
- Evaluate using RADAR
- Get research help
Omni, the library catalogue
Omni's advanced search lets you apply filters that suit your research parameters. Limit for example, to: "Waterloo online resources" then enter keywords that describe your topic.
See Book services on how to obtain print materials.
- Tip sheet (2 pages): Locate a print book; find a study spacePage 1: Go from the catalogue information to the book on the shelf
Page 2: Porter Library has spaces for: silent, quiet, and group study
Library databases
Library databases typically cover publications in broad subject areas like history or political science but there are also databases that focus on narrower topics such as gender studies or social movements. Most of these lead you to literature published by scholars. Still other databases contain collections of primary sources such as newspapers, letters, videos.
You can explore all of these using keywords.
- Library databases A-Z list of over 400 databasesTry these 2 ways to filter this list:
1. The dropdown by SUBJECT lets you filter for databases relevant to broad academic disciplines.
2. The dropdown by TYPE lets you filter by non-subject parameters such as news sources and other primary source collections.
Students participate in a lunch counter sit-in. Farmville, Virginia, July 1963
Photo held by Virginia Commonwealth University Libraries.
Find more materials relating to the activities of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) in Omni, the library's catalogue.
Research guides by subject
- Find relevant guides from the over 65 broad subject areas
- For example, the History Research Guide
- Others of possible interest:
Evaluate using RADAR
"RADAR" = Relevance, Authority, Date, Accuracy, and Reason (for writing). It is a simple way to evaluate resources.
Try this activity to see how RADAR can be applied then test your knowledge.
Open the RADAR checklist and the article:
Use the checklist to guide your evaluation of the Yeboah article.
Test your knowledge
- True or false?Answer the 8 questions. (You will not be identified, you can take it as many times as you like.)
Get research help
Don't hesitate to contact Jane Forgay, the Librarian for this course, for research help.