Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture: Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is the major database for architecture. Many architecture titles are not cited in any other databases, not even Google Scholar. Researchers should still continue to use Avery Index during the shutdown. I have compiled a list of journals which are available electronically through the University of Waterloo Library system, including periodicals in foreign languages as I know many architecture students and faculty read more than one language. These are both current, and retrospective journals. Most have only partial electronic coverage, i.e. only select, or the most recent years of the publication are available full-text and online.

Searching Avery Index

You can just execute your searches as usual and look for articles from the below listed current and retrospective periodicals. You might find this tedious and inefficient since most of your results will be from print only titles. There are several ways in Avery Index to limit your searches to journals that are available electronically.

  1. In the Advanced search enter your keyword(s) or search string. In the search box option, choose 'Publication Title – PUB' from the full-down menu, and enter the journal title(s) you want to search. Each title should have quotation marks enclosing it, and separated by the OR operatorScreenshot of 'Advanced Search' in Avery Index demonstrating how to search within specific journals
  1. You can also limit your results to certain journals AFTER you execute your search. In the results screen, scroll down until you see 'Publication title' in the filters menu on the left-hand side. Click on 'More' found at the end of the preview list of journal titles.​

Screenshot of how to limit your results in Avery Index by 'Publication title'

  1. You will get a pop-up with a list of all the journals which have articles on your topic. You'll have the option to 'Include' or 'Exclude' journals. Include only those found in the list of current, and retrospective journals. Remember to click 'Apply' in the lower right corner before you exit this window.

Screenshot of 'Puplication title' pop-up window showing how to include or excluded specific journals in your search results

  1. You’ll now have considerably less results to review and select from. All your Applied filters will appear on the left-hand side. To increase the likelihood of retrieving only electronic articles, sort by 'Most recent first' and/or change the 'Publication date range'.

Screenshot of Avery Index search results with 'Publication title' filter shown as applied

Current journals in Avery Index

Accessing ejournal articles through Avery Index

Avery is an index, which means it has citation to articles only, not the full text of articles itself. 

  1. Though online, full-text articles are not available in the Avery Index, you can access them through the 'GetIt!@Waterloo' link on the right-hand side of your screen.

Screenshot of individual article record in Avery Index and GetIt!@Waterloo link

  1. Since migrating to our new online catalogue, OMNI, the 'GetIt!@Waterloo' link isn’t functioning as it should be. As it is working now, after clicking on the link you will be automatically redirected back into the online catalogue (an extra step).

If the article you are interested in is in fact online through our library collections, a link to the article will appear in the 'View Online' section. Click on it.

Screenshot of article record view in OMNI showing how to access full-text

  1. You’ll be redirected to the article where you’ll be able to access the full-text, usually a PDF. If you have any issues with this process, please contact the Architecture Librarian.

Screenshot of full-text of article located in another database

To see what years of a journal are available electronically, click on the links found on Journal Indexing page of this guide. You will be automatically directed to the journal’s record in the Library’s online catalogue. Under the heading 'View Online' you’ll find the date range(s) for full-text availability. Please note, some periodicals, such as Grey Room, have embargoes on the most recent years set by their  publishers.

Screenshot of Architectural Design catalogue record showing full-text availability from 2005 to present

 

Journals indexed in other databases