Research guides: Architecture: Finding Journals

Accessing journals on architecture

Not all periodicals in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture and design are available in electronic format. Use this guide to learn how to find ejournal articles and place digitization requests on physical items.

We recommend starting with the Avery Index. For more information about using the Avery Index, click on the Journals tab in this guide and select the Avery page from the drop-down menu.

Searching databases

1. Search for the journal title in Omni, our catalogue. If the journal is available through the University of Waterloo Library, you can click on the full-text database link under "View Online."

Screenshot of Journal of Research in Architecture and Planning catalogue record showing it is available online through Gale Academic Online

2. Although appearance and functionality will differ from database to database, look for an option to 'Search within publication', use the 'Advanced Search' option.

Screenshot of journal database record showing 'Search within publication' and 'Advanced Search' options

3. In the 'Advanced Search' you’ll be able to set your parameters to search within your specific 'Publication Title'. Pro tip: Put quotation marks around the full journal title to ensure the database searches it as a term.

Screenshot of database 'Advanced Search" option

Fine arts

Art Full Text
Articles on art, art history, advertising art, painting, graphic design, architecture, and museum studies.
Coverage: Indexing/abstract from 1929. Full Text 1995 - present
Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, this database indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Coverage: 1974 - present
Scope begins with 19th century art movements and covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, and more, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
International Bibliography of Art
Articles, monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues relating to the history of art.
Coverage: 2008 - present

Key databases for architecture

Use the databases below to find journal articles relating to Architecture.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Citations to periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture.
Coverage: 1930's - present
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals provides citations to more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. File sources include The Getty Information Institute (GII) and the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia.
DETAIL Inspiration
The DETAIL Inspiration database for architects and structural
engineers is an image and reference full-text database containing over 5,900
international project documentations of building projects from 60 years of
DETAIL.
Search and filter options include building type, material,
year of construction, and DETAIL issue topic. The search enables users to
find creative building solutions in a targeted, fast, and problem-oriented
manner. The project descriptions with reference photos, drawings, and
technical information are available for download.
Building Green Suite
Information to help building-industry professionals and policy makers improve the environmental performance, and reduce adverse impacts of buildings.
Coverage: current
Building Types Online
Provides architectural drawings, photographs, articles and case studies of modernist and contemporary built works.
Coverage: 1990s - present
BTO is a database of architectural drawings, photographs, articles and case studies of modernist and contemporary built works digitally reproduced from BirkhÃ¤user publications, such as Details magazine. As the plans and drawings are vector-based they can be imported into various drafting, 3D modeling, and GIS software applications. Search options include full text, architect, building types, decade, height, country, author, urban context, and additional research criteria.
CABI Digital Library
Subject coverage: agricultural, animal and environmental sciences; food safety; ecoterrorism; climate change; ecotourism; pharmacology; physiology; toxicology; occupational health; gerontology; and policy recommendations.
Coverage: 1900s - present
CumInCAD: Cumulative Index of Computer Aided Architectural Design
Cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design.
Coverage: varies
CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about over 8,000 articles from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD futures, DDSS and others. All papers include full abstracts. Full texts, in PDF, of some 5,400 papers are also available.

Note: Access to CumInCAD is available on or off campus via remote access after logging in via the Get access from anywhere proxy server. Each user must create an individual log on to access the full text readings.
JSTOR
Provides access to back issues of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences, many of which date from the 1800s.
Coverage: varies (excludes current 3 to 5 years)

Pidgeon Digital
A collection of historical and recent talks given by some of the world's most important architectural professionals. Each interview also includes a transcript. Pidgeon Digital is offering institutions temporary access during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Open Access

"Open access" (OA) describes scholarly literature available online and free of charge for anyone to access.

Such literature may be freely copied distributed, and used with proper attribution. While OA is a newer form of scholarly publishing, many Open Access journals comply with well-established peer-review processes and maintain high publishing standards.

Some browser extensions will try to find an Open Access version of paywalled articles by searching for an article's digital object identifier (DOI), try these:

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Coverage: varies

Multidisciplinary databases

Not sure where to start? The databases below cover many disciplines including health, psychology, technology, business and more.

Academic OneFile
Articles on the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Coverage: 1980 - present
EBSCOhost
A platform with many databases of journal indexes and abstracts, as well as some with full text
Coverage: varies
This online platform hosts multiple resources.

Note: Offline digital lending: Requires Adobe Digital Editions.
Taylor & Francis Online
Includes thousands of journals published by Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Informa.
Coverage: Varies

Engineering

Civil Engineering Database
Contains American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) journals, books, standards, conference proceedings, and manuals of practice. Full text of journal articles since 1990 and conference papers since about 2000.

ICE Virtual Library
Collection of civil engineering, construction and materials science publications that disseminate best practice, expert advice, and research.
Coverage: 1836 - present
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Resources for computer science, electrical engineering, electronics engineering, and mechanical engineering.
Coverage: 1988 - present
IEEE Xplore provides access to journals, annual conference proceedings, and IEEE technical standards.

Business

ABI/INFORM
Articles on business and management from U.S. and international journals and trade magazines, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and product development.
Coverage: 1971 - present
Includes scholarly journals, trade magazines, working papers, market research, and company profiles.
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
Full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relating to business, culture, current events, education, language, agriculture, history, and politics in Canada.
Coverage: 1982 - present