Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is peer review?
It is important to know the difference between a scholarly (or academic or peer-reviewed or refereed) journal and a trade publication or popular magazine. These criteria will help.
Find even more peace journal titles using these directories:
Getting the article
Many of the research and journal databases have a GetIt!@Waterloo button beside each abstract. If we subscribe to that journal online it can be a quick way to connect to the article. There are also links to the Library Catalogue and Interlibrary Loans.
Research Databases at the University of Waterloo
The default search in the library catalogue includes journal articles, newspaper articles, reviews, and conference proceedings available through many, though not all of the library's electronic subscription databases. This is a good place to begin a search. The results will give you an idea of the research available on your topic. However, when you get deeper into your topic, you will want to make direct use of the databases listed below.
For a nearly-comprehensive list of the databases available through the University of Waterloo, listed by subject area, see the Research Databases page. Note that Peace and Conflict Studies is considered interdisciplinary, so does not have a separate listing on this page.
Selected Research & Journals Databases for Peace & Conflict Studies
Columbia International Affairs Online [CIAO]
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Its publications include working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. Search from 1991 to the present.
Access to over 15,000 business, legal, and news sources.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other related fields. Coverage is 1900 – present.
Indigenous Collections (Informit)
Contains the full text of scholarly materials that cover a range of topics relating to Indigenous peoples across the globe. It contains journal articles, books, reports, and conference proceedings from the 1970s to the present.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Indexes educational-related journals, conferences, government documents, bibliographies, and books.
Coverage: 1915 - present
Indexes public and social policy literature on business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences.
Selected Research & Journals Databases for Current Affairs
Alternative Press Index
The most complete guide to alternative & radical media plus a guide to publishers' addresses.
The Alternative Press Index is widely regarded as the leading guide to the alternative press in North America. Citations are drawn from roughly 380 alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Covers 1969 to the present.
CBCA [Canadian Business and Current Affairs]
A bibliographic full-text reference and current events database for Canada. With over 4.5 million records records and more than 1,665 titles, coverage includes current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information. CBCA is updated daily with full-text content (1985 to present) and bibliographic content (1971 to present).
Factiva is a global news and business information service incorporating the content sets of Dow Jones Interactive and Reuters Business Briefing services. It also includes many full text articles from magazines and scholarly journals in all subject areas. Contents are updated daily. A limited number of simultaneous users may access this database. Please log out as soon as you have finished searching.
Selected Research & Journals Databases for the Humanities and Social Sciences
ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS Serials
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, Religion Index is a bibliographic database with citations to articles in more than 500 international journals and over 450 books of collections of articles annually, in religion and theology, including religion and war/politics/science/medicine, church and state, etc. It includes dissertations and book reviews.
Selected Multi-Disciplinary Research & Journals Databases
Google Scholar is a search engine that emphasizes scholarly information. Entering Google Scholar through the uWaterloo library system will connect you more directly to uWaterloo library databases.
50,301,699 articles from over 22,039 full text journals covering every academic discipline. Scholars Portal is a service available only to faculty and students at Ontario's 21 universities.
Back issues of core journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences
Web of Science
The Web of Science, in spite of its name, is a collection of indexes to the literature of the arts & humanities, the social sciences, as well as the sciences. It is based on the citation indexes from ISI which collectively index more than 8,400 peer-review journals cover-to-cover, providing users with complete bibliographic data, full-length author abstracts, and cited references.
Advanced searching in Google