Research guides: Electrical and Computer Engineering: Find Articles

Key Databases

IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Resources for computer science, electrical engineering, electronics engineering, and mechanical engineering.
Coverage: 1988 - present

IEEE Xplore provides access to journals, annual conference proceedings, and IEEE technical standards.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
ACM Digital Library

Conference proceedings, books, articles, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles relating to computing and information technology.
Coverage: 1947 - present

ACM Digital Library contains bibliographic information on ACM publications since 1947 and includes full-text of documents where available. Works published by affiliated organizations are included on a selected basis.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
SAE Mobilus
An index to SAE standards, technical reports, journal articles, and magazine articles.
Coverage: index 1906 - present; full text latest 10 years

Waterloo subscribes to only the technical papers section. Only citations and abstracts are available for all other material.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

Knovel
Provides data and technical references.
Coverage: n.a.

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Materials Science & Engineering Database
Information on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites.
Coverage: 1966 - present

Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the following databases: Aluminium Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, and METADEX. It provides content on everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Access Engineering
Access Engineering is an engineering-focused reference platform that provides access to e-books for academics, students, and professionals.
Coverage: varies

AccessEngineering is an engineering-focused reference platform that provides access to e-books for academics, students, and professionals. Includes textbooks like Perryâ€™s Chemical Engineersâ€™ Handbook; Datavis, a data visualization tool; and hundreds of faculty-created videos.

Note: Available to students, faculty and staff at the University of Waterloo. Depending on your method of access, you may be asked to authenticate as a member of the UWaterloo community.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
SciFinder-n

Provides chemical information including physical and chemical properties, reactions, and patents.
Coverage: 1907 to present

Note: Access is restricted to current faculty, students and staff of the University. Account registration must be done using your Waterloo email address.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Scopus

Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
SpringerLink - eBooks
Ebooks, and book chapters from physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, humanities, business, and education.
Coverage: To current

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
SpringerMaterials
Covers multiple material classes, property types, and applications for identifying material properties.
Coverage: Current

The collections included in SpringerMaterials are: Landolt-Bornstein, Inorganic Solid Phases, MSI Eureka, Polymer Thermodynamics, Substance Profile, Thermophysical Properties.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Web of Science

Articles and citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Coverage: Varies

Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

Journal articles and books not available in Omni

If the material you need is not available in Omni, you can request it using the blank request form found at the top of the Omni results screen under Interlibrary Loan.

Suggest a purchase
Suggestions for new library acquisitions are welcomed using this form to recommend a purchase.

Research guides by subject

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!