It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Digital Scholar Lab (DSL) is an online tool that gives users the ability to create custom content sets, analyze and interrogate the data with the text analysis and visualization tools from the platform. The users’ content sets remain saved in the Gale Digital Scholar Lab allowing them to manage their research for long term projects. The online tool runs from the users browser and no additional software is needed.
In the Digital Scholar Lab (DSL) there are six analysis tools available: 1) Document Clustering, 2) Name Entry Recognition, 3) Ngrams, 4) Parts of Speech Tagger, 5) Sentiment Analysis, and 6) Topic Modeling. Learn more about how to select the right tool and more on the various analysis tools available in DSL.
Example of sentiment analysis across publication years.
Example of topic modeling.
Text available from the Digital Scholar Lab (DSL) have gone through a process called Optical Character Recognition (OCR) which converts the document into readable, searchable text.
Create visualizations with this text analysis package. Use primary source texts to create data sets, then apply DSL tools such as Ngram, sentiment analysis, the parts of speech analyser, and others to conduct distant reading of those sets. Coverage: n.a.
Once you get to the DSL homepage you can log in/ create an account by signing in with Google or Microsoft.
Teaching and Learning Support via Gale Digital Scholar Lab
Curriculum materials available for teaching and learning support for Gale Digital Scholar Lab and Digital Humanities curriculum in mind. Materials include: sample syllabi, learning objectives, end-to-end project outlines, and sample projects.
Access webinars and video tutorials (available with accessible captions) on the Digital Scholar Lab (DSL). The current material includes how to create a content set, search strategies, clean text, run an analysis, and understand the results.
Content and Collection for use in Digital Scholar Lab
Users can find University of Waterloo Library's access to a number of Gale's primary source collections by clicking on the Available Text links on the Digital Scholar Lab (DSL) Home Page or in the Learning Center.
Additionally, as a fairly new feature - users have the ability to upload plain text files by navigating to the Upload feature on the Build page of the Digital Scholar Lab. They can select one or more files from their computer to upload, apply metadata, manage, and add to a Content Set.
Some current primary collections via Gale include:
Contains books, broadsheets, manuscripts, and periodicals. Also included are court transcripts, prison records, petitions, and police advertisements. Documents are from Europe, North America, India, and the Antipodes.
Included are significant collections of women writers, collections on the French Revolution, numerous 18th century editions of the works of Shakespeare, and multiple editions of other works of literature.
Indigenous Peoples of North AmericaFacilitates the study of invasion and colonization. Find materials relating to customs, dance, music, warfare, peace treaties, removal grants, legends, and myths. Coverage: 1600s - 2000s
Search manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, images of artwork, and more. Included are "Iroquois Indians: a documentary history of the diplomacy of the Six Nations and their league" and the Javitch Collection (University of Alberta)
The collection contains 700+ bound volumes of newspaper and news pamphlets that were published mostly in London. The collection also includes English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, the American colonies, Europe and India.
Times Digital ArchiveSearch for news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. Coverage: 1785 - 2019
Women's Studies ArchiveFind primary sources relating to women’s activism. Featured are female-authored literature and women’s periodicals. Coverage: 1800s - 2000