Skip to Main Content

Zotero at University of Waterloo: Using Zotero with LaTeX and Overleaf

This guide will help you use the free online citation and research management tool Zotero to organize citations from Library catalogs and databases.

BibTeX, LaTeX, and Overleaf

This page is designed for people with a working knowledge of BibTeX and LaTeX or Overleaf. Please follow these links for more information on: 

Create static .bib files

Zotero can produce .bib files for use with your Overleaf project.

  1. In Zotero, select the collection, library, or items you would like to appear in your .bib file
  2. Right click and choose Export
  3. Select the BibTeX format
  4. Save the .bib file to your computer (note the location)
  5. In your Overleaf project, click on the Upload icon near the top left corner
  6. Follow the instructions to upload the .bib file from the location on your computer to Overleaf

Please note:

  • New items or subsequent changes to items in your Zotero library or collection will not appear in the .bib file after it has been exported from Zotero

Zotero can produce .bib files for use with your LaTeX document.

  1. In Zotero, select the collection, library, or items you would like to appear in your .bib file
  2. Right click and choose Export
  3. Select the BibTeX format
  4. Save the file into the same folder as your LaTeX document

Please note:

  • New items or subsequent changes to items in your Zotero library or collection will not appear in the .bib file after it has been exported from Zotero

Use Zotero without .bib files

If your LaTeX template does not use .bib files you can still use Zotero.

  1. In Zotero, create a bibliography of the items you want in the style of your choice.
  1. You can then copy and paste the items in that bibliography into your .tex file 
  2. Edit the bibitems in the bibliography as necessary

Create automatically updating .bib files

You can link your Zotero account to your Overleaf account so that changes made to your Zotero library will be reflected in your Overleaf .bib file.

  1. Select your Account from Overleaf's Home page
  2. Choose Account Settings
  3. Click on the blue Link button next to Zotero Integration
    • If you are not logged in to your online Zotero account a Zotero login screen will appear in your browser so you can log in
  4. You will be taken to a page that asks you to grant access so an application can connect to your Zotero account
  5. Select Accept Defaults 
  6. In your Overleaf project, click on the Upload icon near the top left corner
  7. Choose From Zotero
  8. Select the Library you want to import references from
  9. An uploaded .bib file will appear and you can Refresh it as needed (to reflect updates made in the Zotero Library)

Please note:

  • All of your Zotero Libraries (My Library and Group Libraries) should be options to choose from when importing references
    • If some are missing try unlinking and relinking your Zotero account in Overleaf
    • Individual collections (folders within a library) can not be brought into Zotero, you must choose a whole library
  • If you make changes to your Zotero Library (adding, removing, or editing items) use the Refresh button at the top of your imported .bib file to bring those changes into Overleaf's version of the .bib file
  • This method does not always display mathematical notations or Greek letters properly in citations 

You can set up your Zotero exports in such a way that the .bib file on your computer automatically updates as you make changes to your Zotero library. 

  1. Install Better BibTeX.
  1. In Zotero go to Tools and select Better bibTeX Preferences
  2. In the Automatic export tab ensure the Automatic export is set to On Change
  3. Select the collection, library, or items you would like to appear in your .bib file
  4. Right click and choose Export
  5. Select the Better BibTeX format and ensure the Keep Updated option is checked

Feedback welcomed

This page is a work in progress. Please let us know if you have questions or suggestions for improvements r3hutchi@uwaterloo.ca.