We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Incorrect bibliographic references
The issue
When prompted, ChatGPT may generate text that includes accurate-looking citations. However, it is important to verify the existence of the sources and the accuracy of the information obtained from them.
In the following example, ChatGPT produced a list of three references, of which only the second one exists.
Example: incorrect bibliographic references
Fig. 1. OpenAI's ChatGPT, response to query from author, February 7, 2023.
Identifying errors and false citations
To verify the existence of the bibliographic references provided by ChatGPT, we can use different approaches:
- Using Omni, the Library’s catalogue, search for each of the listed references. An advanced search will let you combine different search criteria (for example: author, title, publisher, and year of publication).
- You can check our research guide ‘What is Omni?’ to learn more about using Omni for finding resources.
- Using a search engine to look for the book or article. Although the Library collects a large number of authoritative resources, and Omni allows you to search items owned by other academic libraries in Ontario, it is possible that some sources may not be captured in our catalogue, for instance archival primary sources or various forms of grey literature.
- You can consult our research guide Archives 101 to learn more about finding primary sources. Other research guides may also include information on finding grey literature for those disciplines, for example, Political Science or Public Health and Kinesiology.
- Asking ChatGPT for additional details related to a particular citation. Example:
Fig. 2. OpenAI's ChatGPT, response to query from author, February 22, 2023.
ISBN (International Standard Book Number) and ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) are international numbers that uniquely identify a book or journal. Using this information, you can use Omni or other tools, such as ISBN search, to find the resource being referred to. In the example above, although the ISBN provided by ChatGPT exists, it corresponds to a different title, in this case Sustainable Development Goals: Law, Theory, and Implementation. The publication year is also different than the one in the citation.
Additional considerations
- In the above example, one of the references provided by ChatGPT actually exists: (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, 2014) and we were able to find it using a search engine. However, the existence of this source does not mean that the information presented in ChatGPT’s response comes from this report, or that it has been properly understood and summarized.
- In this case, ChatGPT may have helped you find one possible source for your work, but you would still need to consult the material to determine its suitability for the research question you are trying to answer, and critically examine its contents in the context of other sources that you have consulted.
Screen capture transcripts: incorrect bibliographic references
ChatGPT screen capture 1 transcript
[Prompt]
Summary of gender based violence and climate justice and climate change with citations in APA format
[Reply]
Here is a summary of the interconnection between gender-based violence, climate change, and climate justice, with citations in APA format:
Gender-based violence (GBV) and climate change are interconnected issues that have a disproportionate impact on women and girls (Hossain & Price, 2019). Climate change, including natural disasters and resource scarcity, exacerbates existing gender inequalities and increases the risk of GBV (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, 2014). Climate justice, on the other hand, refers to the equitable distribution of the benefits and burdens of actions taken to address climate change (Stern, 2018). In the context of GBV, climate justice requires consideration of the specific experiences and needs of women in decision-making and response to the impacts of climate change (Hossain & Price, 2019).
References:
Hossain, M., & Price, L. (2019). Climate justice and gender-based violence. In Handbook of Climate Justice (pp. 497-512). Edward Elgar Publishing.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). (2014). Climate Change 2014: Impacts, Vulnerability and Exposure. Part A: Global and Sectoral Aspects. Contribution of Working Group II to the Fifth Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.
Stern, N. (2018). Climate change and development. Routledge.
ChatGPT screen capture 2 transcript
[Prompt]
When I asked for a summary of the interconnection between gender-based violence, climate change, and climate justice, with citations in APA format, you provided the following reference: 'Hossain, M., & Price, L. (2019). Climate justice and gender-based violence. In Handbook of Climate Justice (pp. 497-512). Edward Elgar Publishing.' Could you please provide an ISBN or ISSN for this publication?
[Reply]
The ISBN for the book "Handbook of Climate Justice," which includes the chapter "Climate Justice and Gender-Based Violence" by Hossain and Price, is 9781786438751. The book was published by Edward Elgar Publishing in 2019.