Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Coverage: 1966 - present
Articles in medicine, life sciences, animal sciences, plant sciences, biomedical research, medical devices, nursing, biotechnology, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences. Coverage: 1950 - present
PubMed is comprised of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
A search engine covering many disciplines and sources of scholarly literature. Coverage: varies
Google Scholar is a search engine that emphasizes scholarly information, particularly in the sciences and technology. It draws from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities.
Note: Access To access materials paid for by your library, go to Google Scholar, then choose Settings and click "Library Links." The off-campus user will first need to login via "Get access from anywhere."
If you don't find the data you want in one database, try another. They are all a bit different from each other.
Property data on chemical compounds and all physical particles that have
been reported in the literature; reviewed by subject experts. Coverage: 2003-2004 to 2020-2021
Contains important information on data-related subjects such as chemical and
laboratory safety, and nomenclature
Available to students, faculty and staff at the University of Waterloo.
Depending on your method of access, you may be asked to authenticate as a
member of the UWaterloo community.
Information, news and market reports for international companies, industries and countries. Coverage: current
MarketLine Advantage can be browsed by Industries, Geographics, Companies, and Databases. The databases include: Country Statistics, Financial Deals Tracker, Company Prospector, Investment & Advisory Prospector, Company Report Generator, City Statistics, City Data, and Market Data Analysis.
News, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts. Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis. Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.