Research guides: Chemical Engineering Literature & Reports: Get patents, standards

Patents

Patents are a valuable source of unique information, providing information more current than that in books or journals. They provide information that you will not find in other literature.

LENS.ORG
Provides integrated scholarly and patent knowledge. Patents are
from global sources.

Espacenet
Worldwide coverage of patents.
Canadian Patents Database
United States Patent and Trademark Office

Reaxys
Authoritative information in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry.
Coverage: 1779 - present
SciFinder-n
Has a focus on chemistry-related patents from around the world.For current Waterloo faculty, staff, and students only.
Note: Access is restricted to current faculty, students and staff of the University. Account registration must be done using your Waterloo email address.

Standards & codes

TechStreet
Includes: ASHRAE, BS, CSA, ISO
Coverage: Current, as well as past versions of standards
Note: Access If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.

ASTM Compass
Provides standards and technical engineering information.
IEEE standards
In your search parameters, filter by CONTENT TYPE "standards".
Find older standards in the library catalogue.
Use "standard" within your search for best results.

Canadian Standards Association (CSA)
CSA provides full-text access to Canadian standards and codes.
Coverage: 1931 - present
Users are permitted to download PDF’s, but not codes and standards”. Users off campus can only use the “view online” option.
SAE Mobilus
An index to SAE standards, technical reports, journal articles, and magazine articles.
Coverage: index 1906 - present; full text latest 10 years
Waterloo subscribes to only the technical papers section. Only citations and abstracts are available for all other material.

Research guides by subject

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!