Research guides: PD11 Research Guide: Access articles

Access the full text

When you search a database you will see one or more of the following links associated with each result:

Get it at Waterloo
Full-Text
PDF

Clicking on will take you to our catalogue record for that paper. If the full text is available through a University of Waterloo subscription, the Get it at Waterloo button will provide a link to the full text.

If you have any issues with the full text links, please use the Report a Problem button so we can help.

If we don't have it online, you will see a link to a request form. Submit the form to have the paper emailed to you.

Check the catalogue

Use the OMNI search box on the library's home page to search for the title of the article you want.

Searching in Omni, the Library’s catalogue
Infographic detailing how to search for various resources in Omni.
Requesting in Omni, the Library’s catalogue
Infographic detailing how to request various resources in Omni.

Interlibrary loan (ILL)

Use interlibrary loan (ILL) to request papers not listed in our catalogue. The Library will find a copy from another institution and email it to you.

Fill out the blank request form for ILL
Infographic detailing how to fill out the request form.

Connecting research databases to Get it @ Waterloo

Please note that not all databases automatically show the Get it at Waterloo button. Follow these steps to add it to Google Scholar and/or ADS

Google Scholar
To access materials paid for by your library, go to Google Scholar, then choose Settings and click "Library Links" to add the University of Waterloo.
Google Scholar is a search engine that emphasizes scholarly information, particularly in the sciences and technology. It draws from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities.

Note: Access To access materials paid for by your library, go to Google Scholar, then choose Settings and click "Library Links." The off-campus user will first need to login via "Get access from anywhere."
ADS: Astrophysics Data System
Digital library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics. Find Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications.
Coverage: 1975 - present
To access articles paid for by Waterloo: create an account, open your "Settings", click "Library Link Server" and add Waterloo. Look for "My Institution" in the paper's record to be linked to full text.
The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 9.2 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through highly customizable query forms, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed or searched via our full-text search interface. Integrated in its databases, the ADS provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including electronic articles, data catalogs and archives.

Research guides by subject

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!