Research guides: PD11 Research Guide: Find books

Using the library catalogue: Omni

Searching in Omni, the Library’s catalogue
Infographic detailing how to search for various resources in Omni.
Requesting in Omni, the Library’s catalogue
Infographic detailing how to request various resources in Omni.
Deciphering the mystery of call numbers
Infographic detailing how to read call numbers on print books.
Navigating library stacks to find call numbers
Infographic detailing how to navigate library stacks to find print books using their call numbers.

Interlibrary loan (ILL)

Use interlibrary loan (ILL) to request a book not listed in our catalogue. The Library will obtain it from another institution for you to borrow.

If you would like to suggest a book to purchase, please complete this library purchase request.

eBbook collections

To find e-books, search the library's catalogue and narrow results to those available online, or search one of our e-book collections.

ACM Books
Ebooks published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Covers a wide
range of Computer Science research.
ACM Books is a series of scholarly research monographs and graduate-level
texts, authored by computer scientists and practitioners at the forefront of
computing technology and includes books across the entire spectrum of
computer science.
Knovel
Provides data and technical references.
Coverage: n.a.
O'Reilly Higher Education
Includes books and videos on a wide array of topics including technology, digital media, entrepreneurship and business.
Coverage: Varies
Scholars Portal Books
Full-text ebooks in a wide range of subject areas

Coverage:Varies
This online platform hosts multiple resources.

Note: Local saving restrictions: Saving in PDF format restricted to 15% of a work.
SIAM e-books
These books are published by the Society of Industrial and
Applied Mathematics. They have more than 500 titles covering applied
mathematics, computational science and data science communities.
Coverage: varies
SpringerLink - eBooks
Ebooks, and book chapters from physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, humanities, business, and education.
Coverage: To current
Taylor & Francis ebooks (formerly CRCNetBase)
Access to a wide array of subjects in the social sciences, humanities, sciences, and technical and medical fields.
Coverage: varies
Social Science and Humanities books are published under the Routledge, Psychology Press and Focal Press imprints. Science, Technology, and Medical books are published by CRC Press.

Online resources

SAGE Research Methods
Find books, encyclopedia and dictionaries about research methods.
Coverage: varies
SAGE Research Methods provides a tool called Method Maps, which visualizes relationships among more than 700 unique methods terms, concepts and people. Method List can be used to compile selected books, book chapters and journal articles for later review or sharing with colleagues.

Note: Waterloo only gets the text (read: eBook/reference work) content from Sage Research Methods. Waterloo subscription to SAGE Research Methods doesn't include SAGE videos.

Historical Math Monographs
"The Cornell University Library Historical Mathematics Monographs is a collection of selected monographs with expired copyrights chosen from the mathematics field. These were monographs that were brittle and decaying and in need of rescue."
NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions
This site is the online companion to the NIST Handbook of Mathematical Functions.
The Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society
Interdisciplinary articles on math and our society.
Oxford Reference
Contains dictionaries on: Mathematics, Computer Science, Statistics, and the Internet.
Wolfram MathWorld
Encyclopedia covering many mathematical topics.
WolframAlpha
Question-Answer style encyclopedia.