Research guides: Physics & Astronomy: Find books

Using the library catalogue: Omni

Searching in Omni, the Library’s catalogue
Infographic detailing how to search for various resources in Omni.
Requesting in Omni, the Library’s catalogue
Infographic detailing how to request various resources in Omni.
Deciphering the mystery of call numbers
Infographic detailing how to read call numbers on print books.
Navigating library stacks to find call numbers
Infographic detailing how to navigate library stacks to find print books using their call numbers.

Interlibrary loan (ILL)

Use interlibrary loan (ILL) to request a book not listed in our catalogue. The Library will obtain it from another institution for you to borrow.

If you would like to suggest a book to purchase, please complete this library purchase request.

eBook collections

SPIE Digital Library
Articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations in optics, photonics, imaging, lasers, sensing, and nanotechnology.
Coverage: 1990 - present
The SPIE Digital Library provides access to technical papers from SPIE Journals, Conference Proceedings, and books.
IOPscience
Contains books and journals published by the Institute of Physics.
Coverage: varies
Topics include: condensed matter, soft matter, materials science, atomic, molecular, optical and plasma physics, nuclear and high energy particle physics, medical physics, biological physics, biomedical engineering, astrophysics, cosmology and gravitation, mathematical, statistical and quantum physics, and earth and environmental science.
Knovel
Provides data and technical references.
Coverage: n.a.
Scholars Portal Books
Full-text ebooks in a wide range of subject areas

Coverage:Varies
This online platform hosts multiple resources.

Note: Local saving restrictions: Saving in PDF format restricted to 15% of a work.
SpringerLink - eBooks
Ebooks, and book chapters from physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, humanities, business, and education.
Coverage: To current
SAGE Research Methods
Find books, encyclopedia and dictionaries about research methods.
Coverage: varies
SAGE Research Methods provides a tool called Method Maps, which visualizes relationships among more than 700 unique methods terms, concepts and people. Method List can be used to compile selected books, book chapters and journal articles for later review or sharing with colleagues.

Note: Waterloo only gets the text (read: eBook/reference work) content from Sage Research Methods. Waterloo subscription to SAGE Research Methods doesn't include SAGE videos.