Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environment, Resources and Sustainability: Get started

""

About this guide

 

This guide will help students and faculty in the School of Environment, Resources and Sustainability navigate the library to meet their learning and research needs by:

  • linking to relevant databases to find articles
  • providing information about books, print and electronic
  • linking to additional resources and collections
  • showcasing tools that support academic goals and objectives

 

Find articles lists databases for specific topics, such as:

  • agriculture
  • climate change
  • ecology & governance
  • energy
  • transportation

 

A brief overview on:

  • how to navigate
  • what databases contain
  • some of the functions and benefits

 

Find books has information on:

  • eBooks and eBooks collections
  • print books, holds and recalls
  • call number ranges
  • core texts for the discipline
  • eReference items
  • new items
  • print reference collection
  • print periodicals
  • on-campus book return bins locations

 

More resources:

  • essential library guides
  • subject / topic research guides
  • guides for advanced users
  • Geospatial Centre
  • Special Collections / Rare books

 

The Research toolkit provides an overview of the research process and tips that:

  • help with citing references, bibliometric tools
  • help with writing
  • navigating, setting up alerts, saving your search
  • time management tips

Access

 

Access to the electronic resources requires your WatIAM credentials. You can login before you start your search from the library's homepage using the get access from anywhere link, located on the Library's homepage, or when the system prompts you to enter your credentials. If, for any reason, you encounter any difficulties with this step, please contact me directly or library staff through our Ask Us service to resolve the issue. 

 

Omni: your library catalogue

 

Current examples of potential research topics:

 

  • Adaptive and collaborative governance in coastal and marine systems
  • Aquatic ecology and ecotoxicology
  • Biogeography and forest ecology
  • Coastal conservation and social-ecological systems
  • Community-based/participatory research
  • Ecological restoration, resilience and conservation
  • Ecology and policy of parks and protected areas
  • Energy governance and policy
  • Environmental assessment, policies, and process reform
  • Gender and environmental governance
  • Global land and agricultural governance
  • Historical and global change ecology
  • Human dimensions of environmental change
  • Identity, spirituality and ritual in water decisions
  • Landscape genetics
  • Local and sustainable agriculture in Arctic Indigenous communities
  • Maker culture and consumer society
  • Managing social-ecological systems in remote First Nations communities
  • Pollination and invasive species ecology
  • Social dimensions of biodiversity conservation and climate change
  • Social-psychological dimensions of water decisions
  • Soil health, biochar, carbon sequestration
  • Sustainability assessment principles and applications
  • Sustainable agriculture and climate change resilience
  • Sustainable energy strategies
  • Urban political ecology and green economic development
  • Water and environmental governance, resources management
  • Water scarcity, drought and efficiency mechanisms
  • Wildlife ecology and management

Need help?

 

You can email me with your question(s), or book a consultation. Email questions are answered within1-2 business days. Consultations can be booked up to a month in advance and could be up to an hour in length.

 

Why bother?

Good question.

Because I can help you:

  • navigate databases
  • locate items quickly
  • create a research strategy
  • cite your references
  • and more . . .