Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environment, Resources and Sustainability: Find articles

Seeking and searching

""

About this page

 

The databases listed on this page fall into two main camps. Databases that cover almost everything, and databases that are more topic centric. The databases more broad in scope are listed below. Then there is a listing of databases with a stronger concentration of coverage for the following topics:

 

  • ecology, governance, sustainability
    • climate change
    • coastal systems
    • endangered species
    • fisheries
    • forestry
    • plants
    • soil
  • agriculture; food security
  • water; health

 

A brief review of databases:

  • how to navigate
  • what they contain
  • some of the functions and benefits

Find articles for almost everything

 

Many databases offer a broad range of subjects in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences. Some are structured for a specific discipline. Learning to navigate a database is key to finding what you need. The platforms look different, but the functionality is the same. Use the advanced search option, pay attention to the fields you search in, and use the operators. Operators are signals to the system to parse out a different set of results. The three main operators are AND, OR, NOT. They need to be in capital letters for the system to recognize it as an operator, and not as a regular word. AND combines ideas, for example, ecology AND metaphor. OR expands the search by grouping like-minded ideas together, for example, river OR stream OR lake. NOT is used if a term that you are not interested in keeps showing up in your results. For example, if you search for "creepy crawlers" but the term zombies keeps showing up, you could search for "creepy crawlers" NOT zombies. Notice the use of double quotes for "creepy crawlers". The system will conduct a phrase search for two or more words contained within the double quotes. For example, "climate change", "invasive species", "food security". Single words do not need double quotes.

Contact me for assistance searching a database.

 

Check references in:

  • books
  • book chapters
  • encyclopedias
  • government information
  • technical reports
  • working papers
  • articles
  • magazines
  • news items
  • catalogues
  • pamphlets

 

It is often useful to skim the references to find more information on your topic. Many of these references are available in the library collections.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Find articles on specific subjects

 

ECOLOGY; GOVERNANCE; SUSTAINABILITY

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

AGRICULTURE; FOOD SECURITY

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WATER; HEALTH