Skip to Main Content

Environment, Resources and Sustainability: Resources ++

A listing of resources for ecologists and environmentalists

Be in the flow

""

About this page

  

This page provides links to:

  • library guides
    • essential
    • subject specific
    • topic specific
    • for advanced library users

 

  • unique collections
    • data; statistics
    • films
    • Geospatial Centre
    • Special Collections & Archives (SC&A)
      • Digital library
      • Special Collections / Rare books

 

  • publications of selected centres and institutes
    • Heritage Resources Centre
    • Interdisciplinary Centre on Climate Change (IC3)
    • Southwestern Ontario Research Data Centre (SWORDC)
    • Water Institute
    • Waterloo Institute for Complexity & Innovation (WICI)
    • Waterloo Institute for Social Innovation (WISIR)
    • Waterloo Institute for Sustainable Energy (WISE)

 

  • more collections, more books, more publications

Unique collections

 

Films

 

Audio Cine Films

Streaming versions of feature films from major Hollywood and international distributors.

 

Kanapy

Stream thousands of films for free, through your university WatIAM credentials.

 

National Film Board of Canada Campus collection

Licensed access to the National Film Board's online streamed videos and additional titles in the CAMPUS collection.

 

Check out the Climate Change collection.

 

The Media Library

The Media Resources Library has a collection of audiovisual material available for streaming. Content available through this service is accessible to all members of the Waterloo community. If you would like a streaming link you can share with your class, please contact media.loans@uwaterloo.ca with the title name and course code.

 

Geospatial Centre 

The Geospatial Centre is located on the third floor in the Dana Porter Library. The hours of operation are different than the library building, therefore please check before heading over. The Centre has a range of resources:

  • staff with expert knowledge of GIS to assist you
  • access to several key datasets
  • access to physical maps*

*One of the key takeaways is that staff will scan your map and email it to you,

Research guides to help you get started:

 

More Maps:

Historical Topographic Map Digitization Project

 

Special Collections & Archives Home (SC&A)

 

Archives database 

 

Digital Exhibits

 

Digital Library

 

Special Collections / Rare books 

Special Collections & Archives houses almost 60,000 rare books and close to 17,000 periodicals which cover a broad range of subjects supporting the research and teaching functions of the University of Waterloo. Material in the collection dates from 1493 to the present day and includes works on dance, women’s studies, urban planning, the history of mathematics and computing, and private press imprints among others. All items can be located using the Library catalogue by first entering your search terms, and then selecting the “Dana Porter Library - Special Collections & Archives" facet, under Waterloo Library.

 

Sustainability, plus a fossil free proposal

Sustainability @UWaterloo

Microsoft Word - University of Waterloo Carbon-Neutral Investment Policy
October 19 2020 without names.docx (wordpress.com)
Proposal Drafted by Fossil Free UW
Submitted to the University of Waterloo Board of Directors
October 19, 2020

Data

 

 

Another search option for ODESI

 

 

 

 

 

WEBSITES

 

Data on Racialized Populations (Scholars Portal)

Dataverse

Global GIS (Geospatial Centre)

Human Activity and the Envrionment (StatsCanada)

National Centers for Environmental Information

Rural Land Statistics (StatsCanada)

United Nations Geo Data Portal

World Data System

Centres, Institutes, Foundations . .

 

CENTRES AND INSTITUTES
University of Waterloo

 

 

More collections, more books, more publications

 

Canadian Centre for Science and Education (CCSE)

 

Canadian Conservation and Land Management (CCLM) Knowledge Network (cclmportal.ca) 
contains three main research areas: 

  • 1) Boreal Caribou 
  • 2) Wetland Knowledge
  • 3) Land Management

"The site provides a diverse range of content, including academic journal articles, projects, reports, fact sheets, newsletters, videos, an interactive map and more. The CCLM is a collaboration between Ducks Unlimited Canada, Environment and Climate Change Canada Science and Technology Branch, InnoTech Alberta, the National Boreal Caribou Knowledge Consortium, Natural Resources Canada – Canadian Forest Service, and the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology - Centre for Boreal Research. " (source: CCLM webpage)

 

University of Oklahoma 
The Dodge Family College of Arts and Sciences
Institute for Environmental Genomics

"[T]he International Forum on Advanced Environmental Sciences and Technology (iFAST) seminar series. iFAST aims to provide an interactive forum to bring eminent scientists together to share their most recent advances in environmental sciences and technology with interested students, faculty, and other researchers. It also provides an opportunity to foster interdisciplinary networking among environmental researchers, engineers, and the general audience."

Ecology seminars recommended by Waterloo Ecology Network (WEN) EcoEvo Journal Club 
Main Seminars (ou.edu) 

 

International Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

IPCC Reports

 

Restoration Resource Center A project of the Society for Ecological Restoration (ser-rrc.org)
"Ecological restoration is a young field that depends on knowledge gained through experience to advance the field. Yet, knowledge and advancements are often held in silos of individual practitioners, organizations, reports, community presentations, conferences, and scientific publications. Even at a local scale it can be difficult to understand where projects are happening, what their goals are, or whether projects are successful; at the national or global scale, this becomes impossible. 

In 2017, SER launched the Restoration Resource Center to overcome knowledge silos and serve as a principle clearinghouse for information sharing on ecological restoration. Through its searchable databases, the RRC provides practitioners, researchers, educators, students, policy makers, and the public with access to resources, publications, webinars, projects, conference presentations, and information on leaders in the restoration field."

 

The National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine / The National Academy Press (NAP)

  • Browse by topic
  • Search by title, topic, ISBN, (International Standard Book Number),  DOI (digital object identifier)
  • The site contains subject collections, such as the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collection, the Climate Change collection
  • There are new releases, featured titles, multimedia 

 

The United Nations Sustainable Goals

#1. Poverty

#2, Hunger

#3. Health

#4. Education

#5. Gender

#6. Water

#7. Energy

#8. Economics

#9. Infrastructure

#10. Inequality

#11. Cities

#12. Consumption

#13. Action

#14. Oceans

#15. Biodiversity

#16. Justice

#17, Partnerships

 

Search strategies and book series for the goals from a variety of sources:

  • Pre-generated search strategies for the goals (excluding #17) can be found under the Advanced document search option in Scopus

An example of the search strategy for Inequality:

TITLE-ABS-KEY ( ( ( equality  AND  ( economic  OR  financial  OR  socio-economic ) )  OR  ( inequality  AND  ( economic  OR  financial  OR  socio-economic ) )  OR  {economic reform policy}  OR  {economic reform policies}  OR  {political inclusion}  OR  {social protection policy}  OR  {social protection policies}  OR  ( immigration  AND NOT  ( chemistry  OR  disease  OR  biodiversity ) )  OR  ( emigration  AND NOT  ( chemistry  OR  disease  OR  biodiversity ) )  OR  {foreign direct investment}  OR  {development gap}  OR  {development gaps}  OR  {migrant remittance}  OR  {responsible migration}  OR  {migration policy}  OR  {migration policies}  OR  {north-south divide}  OR  ( developing  AND  ( {tariffs}  OR  {tariff}  OR  {zero-tariff}  OR  {duty-free access} ) )  OR  {social exclusion}  OR  {economic marginali?ation}  OR  {income inequality}  OR  {discriminatory law*}  OR  {discriminatory policies}  OR  {discriminatory policy}  OR  {economic empowerment}  OR  {economic transformation}  OR  ( {global market}  AND  {empowerment} ) ) )

 

 

The United Nations iLibrary

Review from Choice: Current reviews for academic libraries, by Stoehr, states:

  • "content is organized by theme, series title, publication year, and alphabetically"
  • "publications include annual and outlook publications, book series, journals, working papers, policy briefs, and statistical periodicals" 
  • all freely available without a subscription

Stoehr, J. (2019). UN iLibrary. CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries, 56(10), 1234+. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A589126340/LitRC?u=uniwater&sid=bookmark-LitRC&xid=05f9ce20