Research guides: Research guide template v2: Find articles

Adding Databases

When you add databases using the "Database" content type, information is automatically pulled from uWaterloo's A-Z list of databases. These entries will automatically update as information in the list is updated, reducing the effort needed in future.

To add a database, follow these steps:

Add content type "Database."
Begin typing the database name into the search field.
Select the correct database.
Save.

Database groups can be sorted by title.

Recommended Databases

Factiva
News, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication

Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Google Scholar
A search engine covering many disciplines and sources of scholarly literature.
Coverage: varies

Google Scholar is a search engine that emphasizes scholarly information, particularly in the sciences and technology. It draws from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities.

Note: Access To access materials paid for by your library, go to Google Scholar, then choose Settings and click "Library Links." The off-campus user will first need to login via "Get access from anywhere."
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
JSTOR

Provides access to back issues of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences, many of which date from the 1800s.
Coverage: varies (excludes current 3 to 5 years)

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Provides indexing and abstracting for key library and information science journals, books, research reports and more.
Coverage: mid 1960s - present

Subjects include bibliometrics, cataloguing, classification, information management, librarianship, online information retrieval.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
PubMed
Articles in medicine, life sciences, animal sciences, plant sciences, biomedical research, medical devices, nursing, biotechnology, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences.
Coverage: 1950 - present

PubMed is comprised of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Scopus

Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Web of Science

Articles and citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Coverage: Varies

Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

Research guides by subject

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!