Research guides: Science & Business Research Guide: Library Subscriptions

SCBUS 122

The research component of this course is focused on company research. Below are some resources to help you get started. If you need help try the Company Research page.

Business Source Elite
Select Harvard Business Review cases and content are available through Business Source Elite. Search "Harvard Business Review" and select "Publication Name" from the "Select a Field" menu.
IBISWorld
Provides market research reports for Canadian and US industries.
Coverage: current
Mergent Market Atlas
Industry reports covering North America, Latin America, Asia/Pacific, and Europe by country and region.
Coverage: current
Mergent Market Atlas provides business and financial information on more than 10,000 public companies in the U.S. Profiles for each company include: business descriptions, EDGAR documents, fundamental data, key financial ratios, earnings estimates, stock information and current headline news. The latest financial information may be presented by business and geographic segments. Mergent Atlas Online also provides the ability to create custom reports for a company, as well as compare reports of multiple companies. Also includes country statistical data and maps.
Pitchbook
Pitchbook tracks private and public companies, including startups and small businesses. Use it to determine company financials, funding rounds, funding firms, and more.
Users must create an account with their Waterloo email address to login.
Statista
Provides over 1 million statistics, data, and facts from over 600 industries and 50+ countries.
Coverage:Varies

GlobalData Explorer
Information, news and market reports for international companies, industries and countries. New platform for Marketline Advantage.

SCBUS 123

The research component of this course is focused on market and industry research. Below are some resources to help you get started. If you need help try the Market Research or Industry Researc h pages.

ABI/INFORM
Articles on business and management from U.S. and international journals and trade magazines, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and product development.
Coverage: 1971 - present
Includes scholarly journals, trade magazines, working papers, market research, and company profiles.
Frost & Sullivan
Provides market research and analysis.
Coverage: varies
Note: Users can view, but not download documents online. If you require PDFs, send your request to the Engineering Reference Team
IBISWorld
Provides market research reports for Canadian and US industries.
Coverage: current
Statista
Provides over 1 million statistics, data, and facts from over 600 industries and 50+ countries.
Coverage:Varies

GlobalData Explorer
Information, news and market reports for international companies, industries and countries. New platform for Marketline Advantage.

SCBUS 223

The research component of this course is focused on company research. Below are some resources to help you get started. If you need help try the Company Research page.

Business Source Elite
Select Harvard Business Review cases and content are available through Business Source Elite. Search "Harvard Business Review" and select "Publication Name" from the "Select a Field" menu.
Mergent Market Atlas
Industry reports covering North America, Latin America, Asia/Pacific, and Europe by country and region.
Coverage: current
Mergent Market Atlas provides business and financial information on more than 10,000 public companies in the U.S. Profiles for each company include: business descriptions, EDGAR documents, fundamental data, key financial ratios, earnings estimates, stock information and current headline news. The latest financial information may be presented by business and geographic segments. Mergent Atlas Online also provides the ability to create custom reports for a company, as well as compare reports of multiple companies. Also includes country statistical data and maps.
Pitchbook
Pitchbook tracks private and public companies, including startups and small businesses. Use it to determine company financials, funding rounds, funding firms, and more.
Users must create an account with their Waterloo email address to login.
Statista
Provides over 1 million statistics, data, and facts from over 600 industries and 50+ countries.
Coverage:Varies

GlobalData Explorer
Information, news and market reports for international companies, industries and countries. New platform for Marketline Advantage.

SCBUS 225

The research component of this course is focused on company research. Below are some resources to help you get started. If you need help try the Project/Program Research page.

Business Source Elite
Select Harvard Business Review cases and content are available through Business Source Elite. Search "Harvard Business Review" and select "Publication Name" from the "Select a Field" menu.
Google Scholar
A search engine covering many disciplines and sources of scholarly literature.
Coverage: varies
Google Scholar is a search engine that emphasizes scholarly information, particularly in the sciences and technology. It draws from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities.

Note: Access To access materials paid for by your library, go to Google Scholar, then choose Settings and click "Library Links." The off-campus user will first need to login via "Get access from anywhere."
IBISWorld
Provides market research reports for Canadian and US industries.
Coverage: current
Pitchbook
Pitchbook tracks private and public companies, including startups and small businesses. Use it to determine company financials, funding rounds, funding firms, and more.
Users must create an account with their Waterloo email address to login.
Scopus
Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Statista
Provides over 1 million statistics, data, and facts from over 600 industries and 50+ countries.
Coverage:Varies

GlobalData Explorer
Information, news and market reports for international companies, industries and countries. New platform for Marketline Advantage.

SCBUS 323

ABI/INFORM
Articles on business and management from U.S. and international journals and trade magazines, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and product development.
Coverage: 1971 - present
Includes scholarly journals, trade magazines, working papers, market research, and company profiles.
Frost & Sullivan
Provides market research and analysis.
Coverage: varies
Note: Users can view, but not download documents online. If you require PDFs, send your request to the Engineering Reference Team
IBISWorld
Provides market research reports for Canadian and US industries.
Coverage: current
Pitchbook
Pitchbook tracks private and public companies, including startups and small businesses. Use it to determine company financials, funding rounds, funding firms, and more.
Users must create an account with their Waterloo email address to login.
Statista
Provides over 1 million statistics, data, and facts from over 600 industries and 50+ countries.
Coverage:Varies

GlobalData Explorer
Information, news and market reports for international companies, industries and countries. New platform for Marketline Advantage.

SCBUS 423 & 424

Since these courses are built upon your cumulative experience throughout this program, ideally you would be familiar with most of the databases on this page.

Below is a list of databases that may be especially useful to you as tackle business research holistically in these capstone classes.

IBISWorld
Provides market research reports for Canadian and US industries.
Coverage: current
Pitchbook
Pitchbook tracks private and public companies, including startups and small businesses. Use it to determine company financials, funding rounds, funding firms, and more.
Users must create an account with their Waterloo email address to login.
Scopus
Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Statista
Provides over 1 million statistics, data, and facts from over 600 industries and 50+ countries.
Coverage:Varies

GlobalData Explorer
Information, news and market reports for international companies, industries and countries. New platform for Marketline Advantage.