We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Water research at Waterloo University
The Water Institute at the University of Waterloo facilitates collaboration, supports excellence and promotes innovation in interdisciplinary water research and education. Today, more than 150 faculty members from all six University of Waterloo faculties and 19 departments are members of the Water Institute.
- Courtenay LabCourtenay lab students are engaged in multi-, inter-, and trans- disciplinary research in the areas of biology, ecology, governance, ecotoxicology, monitoring and management within and relating to aquatic systems.
- Cryospheric Remote Sensing Research FacilityThe Cryospheric Remote Sensing Research Facility (CRSRF) was established in 2009 by Professors Claude Duguay and Richard Kelly. The CRSRF provides the only Ku-/X-band scatterometer facility of its kind in North America.
- Ecology labAvailable to you are field guides, lab and field equipment, documentation, and preserved specimens. We share our expertise in taxa identification and analysis, water and soil analysis, gardening, and other topics.
- Hall lab (WATER lab)Research in the Hall Lab, also known as the WATER Lab (University of WATerloo Environmental change Research Lab), centers around analysis of long-term environmental records to address ecological issues.
- Katzenback LabEcoimmunology research with an interdisciplinary approach to examine how environmental stress influences the immune system, and health, of animals at the organismal, cellular and molecular levels.
- Rooney LabThe Rooney lab focusses on aquatic ecology, restoration ecology, and landscape ecology. We look at the relationships between plants, invertebrates, and birds with their abiotic environment; both in terms of ecosystem properties and processes.
- Sustainability Living LabThrough the Sustainability Living Lab program, the University of Waterloo aims to support students and faculty in using the campus as a model for researching, testing, and applying innovative approaches to addressing sustainability challenges. The recommendations and solutions developed here have the potential to improve the campus and build the sustainability leadership that can help transform the world.
- Swanson LabResearch in the Swanson Lab Group is centered around northern aquatic ecology and ecotoxicology.
- Wetland Soils & Greenhouse Gas Exchange LabInvestigating the interaction between ecology, hydrology, biogeochemistry and soil properties in wetland ecosystems.
Research: specialty databases, literature and reference
- AlgaeBaseAlgaeBase is a global algal database of taxonomic, nomenclatural and distributional information.
- AmphibiawebThe means to conserving amphibians is to enable and facilitate better research and education with an accessible, consolidated, and curated information system for all amphibian species. From The University of California, Berkeley
- Aquatic life criteria and methods for toxics, EPAThe Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) bases aquatic life criteria on how much of a chemical can be present in surface water before it is likely to harm plant and animal life. EPA designs aquatic life criteria to protect both freshwater and saltwater organisms from short-term and long-term exposure.
- Fish, Amphibians, and Reptiles | Hinterland, Who's WhoWith a focus on species found in Canada, this open access database is produced by the Canadian Wildlife Federation, and Environment and Climate Change Canada.
- FishBaseFishBase covers a wide range of information on all fish species currently known in the world, including taxonomy, biology, trophic ecology, life history, and uses, as well as historical data reaching back to 250 years.
- HexacoralsBiogeoinformatics of hexacorallia (corals, sea anemones, and their allies): interfacing geospatial, taxonomic, and environmental data for a group of marine invertebrates.
- IODE Ocean Data PortalIODE Ocean Data Portal(ODP) provides a “one-stop shop” approach to oceanographic data held by the IODE global network of 80 National Oceanographic Data Centres (NODCs), as well as to resources from other participating systems.
- Marine BioMarineBio is an ever-evolving tribute to all ocean life that has been a central source online for the latest information concerning marine life and its biology, and especially its conservation, since 1998.
- The North American Aquatic Macroinvertebrate Digital Reference Collection (NAAMDRC)NAAMDRC was created by the USGS Aquatic Experimental Lab (AXL) to provide users with high-quality digital microscopy photographs to aid identification of aquatic macroinvertebrates. Freshwater.
- Ocean Watch (beta)Ocean Watch provides the data and information policymakers need to make better-informed decisions about sustainable ocean management. A beta initiative of Resource Watch.org
- ReefBaseReefBase gathers available knowledge about coral reefs into one information repository. It is intended to facilitate analyses and monitoring of coral reef health and the quality of life of reef-dependent people, and to support informed decisions about coral reef use and management.
- Sea Slug ForumAustralian Museum
- WORMSWorld Register of Marine Species (WORMS)
This is a fraction of the aquatic and marine research journals available at University of Waterloo Libraries. If you are looking for a specific title, or would like to search all of them systematically, please connect with me.
- Canadian journal of fisheries and aquatic sciencesJournal canadien des halieutiques et aquatiques. (1980). National Research Council Canada.
- Fish and FisheriesFish and fisheries (Oxford, England). (2000). Blackwell Science.
- Freshwater scienceFreshwater science (Online). (2012). Society for Freshwater Science.
- Harmful AlgaeHarmful algae (Online). (2002). Elsevier Science.
- Progress in OceanographyProgress in oceanography (Online). (1963). Elsevier Science.
- Reviews in AquacultureReviews in aquaculture (Online). (2009). Blackwell Publishing Asia Pty Ltd.
- Water science and technologyWater science and technology (Online). (1981). Pergamon Press.
Marine Animal Forests by ISBN: 3319170015
Open courseware
- Learn more about OERs (open educational resources)
OERs at the University of Waterloo
Statistical collections and software
- Statistical Collections, FAOStatistical collections from the FAO of the UN (Food and Agriculture Organizations of the United Nations). Collections are free to use and include statistics for Global Aquaculture Production; Global Capture Production; Global Fish Trade and Processed Products Statistics; Consumption of Fish and Fishery Products; Global Tuna Catches by Stock; Global Number of Fishers; and more.
- FishStatJ [software]FishStatJ is a Windows and Mac application that anyone can use to access FAO’s Fisheries and Aquaculture statistics. They include datasets on production, trade and consumption. Data can be extracted and aggregated according to different level of details and international standard classifications.
- OPENARTFISH [software]OPEN ARTFISH stands for Open Approaches, Rules and Techniques for Fisheries statistical monitoring. It consists of the OPEN ARTFISH software application and its backbone OPEN ARTFISH database. The software application is built to estimate the total catch and value by species for sampling schemes of small-scale fisheries. Other major outputs of the OPEN ARTFISH are guidelines, manuals, training course and material.
- WAPI [software]World Aquaculture Performance Indicators (WAPI) is an endeavor initiated by the FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Division to develop user-friendly tools for compiling, generating and providing easy access to quantitative information on aquaculture sector performance at the national, regional and global levels.
Theses and Dissertations
Aljoudi, G., & Müller, K. M. (2021). Bacterial communities in the Glenmore Reservoir with an emphasis on the cyanobacteria
Daniel-Simon, J., & Rooney, R. C. (2020). The role of wetland pond permanence in the assembly of biological communities in the Prairie Potholes of Alberta
Ellenor, J., & Swanson, H. (2020). Habitat use of young-of-year Arctic Grayling (Thymallus Arcticus) in barrenland streams of central Nunavut, Canada
Gromala, M. (2020). Microbial communities of wastewater in the Canadian Arctic
Hodgson, R. M., & Craig, P. M. (2020). Changes in gill physiology and energy requirements of darter species (Etheostoma spp.) due to effluent in the Grand River
Nikel, K. E., & Servos, M. R. (2020). Wild fish responses to wastewater treatment plant upgrades in the Grand River, Ontario
Polowyk, H. C., & Rooney, R. C. (2020). Eleocharis geniculata (bent spike-rush) great lakes plains population : conservation in the face of invasion
Savage, C., Hall, R. I., & Wolfe, B. B. (2021). Application of artificial substrate samplers to assess enrichment of metals of concern by river floodwaters to lakes across the Peace-Athabasca Delta
Shardlow, T., Müller, K. M., & Emelko, M. (2021). Identification and characterization of toxic cyanobacteria in two forested maritime watersheds in North America
Sun, Z. (2020). The Ecological Role of Roadside Stormwater Ponds-Potential to Support Biodiversity