We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
 Special Topics | Plants and Botany |
Peer-reviewed journals
- Current Opinion in Plant BiologyElsevier Science; bimonthly publication.
- Nature PlantsThe sister journal of Nature Genetics, and emphasizes the use of genetic and genomic tools and resources in discovering new plant biology and solving major agricultural challenges.
- Plant & Cell PhysiologyOxford University press, published monthly.
- Plant CellMonthly publication from the American Society of Plant Physiologists and the American Society of Plant Biologists.
- Plant JournalSemi-monthly publication from the Society for Experimental Biology (Great Britain)
- Plant PhysiologyAmerican Society of Plant Physiologists.; American Society of Plant Biologists. Published monthly.
- ScienceSince Jan. 1901 the official proceedings and papers of the American Association for the Advancement of Science have been included in Science. Published weekly.
- Trends in Plant ScienceElsevier Science Ltd; published monthly.
eBooks: textbooks and reference
Physicochemical and Environmental Plant Physiology by ISBN: 9780128191477Publication Date: 2020-01-07
Plant Respiration: Metabolic Fluxes and Carbon Balance by ISBN: 3319687018Publication Date: 2018-03-05
Plant Developmental Biology by ISBN: 1607617641Publication Date: 2010-06-11Expert researchers provide a collection of protocols for many of the common experimental approaches in plant developmental biology.
In-text example:
Although gymnosperms were once the dominant flora on earth, they have gradually been displaced by flowering angiosperms ("gymnosperm," 2019).
Citation:
(2019). Gymnosperm. In Allaby, M. (Ed.), A Dictionary of Plant Sciences. : Oxford University Press. Retrieved 7 Jan. 2022, from https://www-oxfordreference-com.proxy.lib.uwaterloo.ca/ view/10.1093/acref/9780198833338.001.0001/acref-9780198833338-e-3099.
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics by ISBN: 1402067542Publication Date: 2008-07-17
Research databases and portals
- BOLD (Barcode of Life Data) SystemsAdvancing biodiversity science through DNA-based species identification. BOLD is a cloud-based data storage and analysis platform developed at the Centre for Biodiversity Genomics in Canada.
- Ensembl PlantsProvides taxonomic reference points giving evolutionary context in which genes can be understood. There are currently over 50,0000 genomes supported across Ensembl.
- GENE [NCBI database]Gene integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.
- Genome Portal [JGI]The JGI Genome Portal provides unified access to all JGI genomic databases and analytical tools. A user can search, download and explore multiple data sets available for all DOE JGI sequencing projects including their status, assemblies and annotations of sequenced genomes.
- Phytozome [JGI]Phytozome is the Plant Comparative Genomics portal of the Department of Energy’s Joint Genome Institute.
- Plant DNA C-values DatabaseCurrently contains C-value data for 12,273 species comprising 10,770 angiosperms, 421 gymnosperms, 303 pteridophytes (246 ferns and fern allies and 57 lycophytes), 334 bryophytes, and 445 algae. From KEW Science, Royal Botanical Gardens.
- PlantGDBTools, resources and datasets for comparative plant genomics. NOTE: last updated 2015
- PLAZAPLAZA is an access point for plant comparative genomics, centralizing genomic data produced by different genome sequencing initiatives. From the VIB-UGent Center for Plant Systems Biology at Gent University.
Recommended reading
For a comparison of databases, as well as a list of species-specific sequence databases, see
Ong, Q., Nguyen, P., Thao, N. P., & Le, L. (2016). Bioinformatics Approach in Plant Genomic Research. Current genomics, 17(4), 368–378. https://doi.org/10.2174/1389202917666160331202956
- AgricolaProvides citations to agricultural literature. Agricola is now available through SEARCH from the USDA National Agricultural Library.
Coverage: 1970 - present - BioOneIndexes scholarly journals in the fields of biological, ecological and environmental science.
Coverage: Most 2001 - present - Plant ScienceCitations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects.
Coverage: 1994 - present - PubMedArticles in medicine, life sciences, animal sciences, plant sciences, biomedical research, medical devices, nursing, biotechnology, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences.
Coverage: 1950 - present - Scholars Portal JournalsA repository for scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline
Coverage: Varies - ScopusPeer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present - Springer Nature ExperimentsLife and biomedical sciences laboratory protocols.
Coverage: Current - Web of ScienceArticles and citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Coverage: Varies
Video and images
- JoVE Science Education: Advanced BiologyVideo library that covers Neuroscience, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Cell Biology, Immunology, Microbiology
Coverage:Varies
- Field Museum: Plants and FungiExplore collections on bryophytes and pteridophytes; economic botany; fungi and lichens; and seed plants
- GoBotoanyDichotomous keys for thousands of New England taxa. Based on the Flora Novae Angliae.
- The Swingle Plant Anatomy Reference CollectionIncluding the Plant Anatomy digital archives and the Plant Anatomy animations collection.
Biodiversity Resources
- Biodiversity Heritage LibraryProvides natural history, biodiversity, and taxonomic literature.
Coverage: 1400s - present
- GISD: Global Invasive Species DatabaseThe Global Invasive Species Database is a free, online searchable source of information about alien and invasive species that negatively impact biodiversity.
- The Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)GBIF was established by governments in 2001 to encourage free and open access to biodiversity data, via the Internet.
- The IUCN Red List of Endangered SpeciesEstablished in 1964, The International Union for Conservation of Nature’s Red List of Threatened Species has evolved to become the world’s most comprehensive information source on the global conservation status of animal, fungi and plant species.
- Taxonomy [NCBI]The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.