Research guides: Political Science Research Guide: Government information

Canadian federal and provincial government sources

ParlInfo via the Library of Parliament
1867 - present.
People, Parliament, Departments and Committees, Political Parties, Legislation, Elections and Ridings.
Canadian Acts of the Parliament Annual and Revised Statutes
via HeinOnline. On the home page, look for "Canadian Content."
Canadian Provincial Statutes
via HeinOnline. On the home page, look for "Canadian Content."

Ontario Government Documents Collection
.. from the Ontario's Legislative Library. Access to over 37,000 documents from the Ontario Legislative Library (OurOntario.ca). Search by keyword or browse by title, ministry / agency, author, subject, or year.

Canadian Research Index
Indexes and, in many cases, provides links to Canadian government documents from federal and provincial departments and agencies.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Most of the material identified in the Canadian Research Index corresponds to the "Microlog Collection" located in Dana Porter Library's microform area, 1st (basement) floor. These are filed with call numbers beginning with: CA7.P__. If you cannot find a title, or would like assistance using the micro collection or microscanner, please, just ask Library staff.

Canadian Political Parties and Political Interest Groups Portal
Web archived content from 50 Canadian political parties and political interest groups.
Coverage: October 2005 - present.
GALLOP Portal:
Government and Legislative Libraries Online Portal
Coverage: 1995 to present.
Find full text government documents collected by legislative libraries in Canada for their jurisdictions.

United States government information sources

United States Government Information: UWaterloo Library's gateway
... to locating US federal information.
FDsys (Federal Digital System via the US Government Printing Office)
Includes documents from the: Executive, Legislative (Senate and House of Representatives) and Judicial (Supreme Court and lower Courts) branches.
MetaLib from the Government Printing Office
... a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases. Locate reports, articles, and citations.
Catalog of US Government Publications (CGP)
Coverage: from 1976 to present. Some full text available.

United Nations information sources

United Nations Digital Library
United Nations iLibrary
Find books, periodicals, and statistical data published by the United Nations Secretariat and its programs. The materials support research in 20th and 21st-century history, politics, economics, social science data, and international relations.

Government, intergovernmental, and nongovernmental information custom Google search

Try the steps below to retrieve information originating from various jurisdictions and types of organizations.

Steps:

Enter keywords:

Based on code developed at MacOdrum Library, Carleton University

Legal information sources

HeinOnline
Articles on law and legal history, court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from Canadian, U.S. and UK jurisdictions.
Coverage: varies
Nexis Uni
News, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Eur-Lex
Documents on European law, treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, consolidated legislation, and international agreements.
Coverage: current

Access to information & privacy requests