We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Researching political change in China
Use this page to find: books, articles, reports, news sources, historical sources
Photo by Fang Guo. Click on the image to view in Flickr.com
Book, article, report sources
- Omni, the Library catalogueUse the this catalogue to search for books and articles (peer-reviewed, magazine, and newspaper) within the Waterloo library and the 13 other Omni libraries.
- Cambridge History of China15 volumes that discuss/analyse topics from the 3rd century BCE to 1982 CE.
- EconLitEconomic literature relating to business administration, economic development, economic history, industrial organization and macroeconomics.
Coverage: 1969 - present - PAIS InternationalIndexes public and social policy literature on business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences.
Coverage: 1915 - present - Historical AbstractsArticles, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Coverage: 1955 - present
Think tanks with strong interests in China:
Historical document sources
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980English-language materials on China and the West. Includes written documents, paintings, drawings and maps.
Coverage: 1793 - 1980 - Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily ReportsEnglish translations and digests of news from around the world.
Coverage: 1941 - 1996
- Chinese Digital ArchiveCoverage 1966-1976.
- Chinese Women's Magazines in the Late Qing and Early Republican PeriodCoverage 1904-1937.
Government, intergovernmental, and nongovernmental information custom Google search
Try the steps below to retrieve information originating from various jurisdictions and types of organizations.
Steps:
- enter keywords about your topic in the box
- use the drop down menu to select a country, region, or type of organization
- click on "Search"
Based on code developed at MacOdrum Library, Carleton University
News sources
Databases with newspapers from around the world:
- FactivaNews, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication - Nexis UniNews, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present
Official Chinese government media organizations:
Media based in Asia with extensive coverage of China:
Facts, commentaries, & primary data
- China Compendium of Statistics, 1949-2009via China's CNKI Knowledge Network.
- Data on Chinavia World Bank
- Economic Survey on Chinavia OECD
- International Financial Statistics (from the IMF)Internationally comparable, country-level economic and financial time series data. Standard source of statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance.
Coverage: varies