Research guides: Political Science Research Guide: PSci 387 (Globalization)

Scholarly books & articles // Think tank reports

Use the databases below to identify books and articles published by scholars in journals

Omni, the Library's catalogue
Search for print and electronic books and articles.

ABI/INFORM
Articles on business and management from U.S. and international journals and trade magazines, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and product development.
Coverage: 1971 - present
Includes scholarly journals, trade magazines, working papers, market research, and company profiles.
Scopus
Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present
EconLit
Economic literature relating to business administration, economic development, economic history, industrial organization and macroeconomics.
Coverage: 1969 - present
Politics Collection (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of scholarly journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, and government documents.
Coverage: 1919 - present
Comprises 4 databases: Political Science Collection (1985 - present), Worldwide Political Science (1975 - present), Policy File Index (1990 - present) , and PAIS International (1919 - present).

News sources from around the world

Factiva
News, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Nexis Uni
News, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Project Syndicate
"Op-eds" and other media/news stories from around the world. Search by keyword or browse by topic or author.
Coverage: 1990s - present
Some content has been translated into other languages including Arabic, Chinese, French, Russian, and Spanish.

Specific news magazines:

Historical context, current facts, data

GFDD Online (Global Financial Development Database)
Covers external debt stocks and flows, major economic aggregates, key debt ratios, average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and scheduled debt service projections.
Coverage: 1970 - present
Data can be exported to programs such as Excel. The database is updated periodically with annual data loaded in January. Published by the World Bank GDF Online (Global Development Finance).