Skip to Main Content

Political Science Research Guide: Handbooks and research methods

Handbooks

Cambridge Histories Online
Full text of more than 200 historical works covering a range of events, geographical areas, and topics.
Coverage: 1960 - present

Oxford Handbook of Canadian Politics, 2010
Oxford Handbook of Comparative Politics, 2009
Oxford Handbook of of Contemporary Middle Eastern and North African History, 2015
Oxford Handbook of Political Theory, 2006
Oxford Handbooks Online: Political Science collection
Search across over 120 handbooks relating to various aspects of political science.
Routledge Handbook of Security Studies, 2016
Routledge Handbook to Global Political Economy: Conversations and Inquiries, 2020

Palgrave Handbook of Canada in International Affairs
Publication Date: 2021

Encyclopedias & dictionaries

Research methodology sources

Omni, the Library's catalogue's list of Waterloo books on research methodology in political science

SAGE Research Methods
Find books, encyclopedia and dictionaries about research methods.
Coverage: varies
SAGE Research Methods provides a tool called Method Maps, which visualizes relationships among more than 700 unique methods terms, concepts and people. Method List can be used to compile selected books, book chapters and journal articles for later review or sharing with colleagues.

Note: Waterloo only gets the text (read: eBook/reference work) content from Sage Research Methods. Waterloo subscription to SAGE Research Methods doesn't include SAGE videos.

Advances in Experimental Political Science by James N. Druckman; Donald P. Green
Publication Date: 2021