Architectural Engineering: Databases

Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.

Most of the material identified in the Canadian Research Index corresponds to the "Microlog Collection" located in Dana Porter Library's microform area, 1st (basement) floor. These are filed with call numbers beginning with: CA7.P__. If you cannot find a title, or would like assistance using the micro collection or microscanner, please, just ask Library staff.

Technical and professional interest areas include aerospace, architectural, coastal and ocean, computing, construction, energy, geotechnical, hydraulic, materials, management, professional Issues, structural, transportation, urban planning, and water resources.

Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the following databases: Aluminium Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, and METADEX. It provides content on everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling.

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals provides citations to more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. File sources include The Getty Information Institute (GII) and the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia.

BTO is a database of architectural drawings, photographs, articles and case studies of modernist and contemporary built works digitally reproduced from Birkhäuser publications, such as Details magazine. As the plans and drawings are vector-based they can be imported into various drafting, 3D modeling, and GIS software applications. Search options include full text, architect, building types, decade, height, country, author, urban context, and additional research criteria.

CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about over 8,000 articles from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD futures, DDSS and others. All papers include full abstracts. Full texts, in PDF, of some 5,400 papers are also available.

Note: Access to CumInCAD is available on or off campus via remote access after logging in via the Get access from anywhere proxy server. Each user must create an individual log on to access the full text readings.

Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, this database indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.