This page provides a brief overview of the research process and tips that:
Online resources for a range of different writing considerations:
The Writing Centre provides instruction on various writing criteria, such as formatting, sentence structure, word use, and individual consultations which you can book in advance or during their drop-in hours for your specific need.
APA style is the standard citation style for all students in the Faculty of Environment.
There are a few points to make about citing:
For APA style the title of the manual is Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th edition. This item is only available in print, however, there are a few reliable online sources that students have found helpful:
Bibliometric tools are automated programs that perform multiple tasks for students and scholars, and they can save you quite a bit of time. Keep in mind to proofread your references (as well as your paper), to make sure the italics, brackets, doi, etc. are all in the right place.
These tools can:
There are many bibliometric tools to choose from, some you pay for, others are free. Talk to your colleagues and faculty to find out what they use to organize their references. Although they all perform the same basic functions you will develop a preference. Always ensure that you can export your references into another program if you decide to change. It is hard to lose all the work that amassing thousands of references would take.
Some programs to consider are:
RefWorks (you can sign up for an account through the library website, and there is librarian support should you have any difficulties)
Information on EndNote and Zotero can also be found on the RefWorks webpage.
Soft skills are identified as professional skills, professional in your career, in academia, and how you live your life in-between. Essentially, they are communication skills. These are the expressions that form your reputation:
There are several units on campus that aim to help you succeed. Most notably is the
Throughout your academic career qualities to build on involve ethics, leadership, teamwork, career development, and more,
Time management is the bane of most people's existence regardless of your station or location in life. It is not something to be mastered, but it can be managed if you work hard. Help is available through the resources already mentioned. The last time management workshop I attended, one piece of advice stood out. Get yourself a timer, a kitchen timer will do, but not your phone. This is an actual physical low-tech timer, and experiment by conducting your own research on how long it takes you to perform a task. For example, reading 20 pages of light reading, 20 pages of tasked reading, and 20 pages of challenged reading. Perform other experiments, such as how much you can write in a 25-minute period. The idea, through these exercises, is not only to gain a realistic sense of time spent, but to train yourself to manage time more methodically, and hopefully with less stress. I think it was Aristotle that said, "we are the sum of our habits".
In addition, the library has an Assignment Planner based on due dates. Another tool to add to your research toolkit.
Omni, the library catalogue, links to the physical book records, e-books, e-journal titles, reference material, individual articles, conferences, technical reports, working papers, government information, databases and more.
There is always more.
When it comes to research, the library catalogue is your new best friend.
Sign in with your WatIAM credentials to:
For current, up-to-date,reli able, and trustworthy information on your topic search databases.
Research databases provide:
Create an account with your uwaterloo email and a unique password to access more options:
Over the course of your academic career you may have saved thousands of references. As previously mentioned, bibliometric tools can help save and organize this information. Another tip that some scholars have found useful is to use a naming convention when labelling their files, for example: last name of first author (all in lowercase), then date of publication:
If there are two authors, list both, then date:
If there are more than two authors use etal, then date:
How you create your naming convention is a personal choice. Consistency is key.
Throughout your academic career at the University of Waterloo you will be exposed to a wide variety of databases. This is a good thing. There will be a time when you will want to search for dissertations only, for grey literature, for health information, government policies, etc. But over time, once you have armed yourself with many skills and insights on how things work, you might settle in to using only one or two databases of your preference. These are your go-to databases, and we are not talking about Google, or Google Scholar. We are talking about sophisticated technologies that are transparent in detailing how it is you got to that information in the first place. Of course Google is extremely sophisticated, but we do not know how we get the results that show up. We do not know how the system works. Once you learn how a system works you can instruct it to work for you in very specific ways. This is exciting, and a very powerful type of knowledge.
If you can spend one to two hours with your librarian to learn more about a database of interest, you will save yourself many more hours in the long run. Consider the following: