Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Translations: Search Catalogues

Library Guide

Search catalogues

Individual titles

If you know the translated title, search by that title. Note: Different, same language translations may have been given different titles. Try also Author's Works search.

Examples:

  • You are looking for English translations of Hugo's "Les Miserables" in the library catalogue:
    • click Advanced Search
    • enter miserables in the title
    • enter hugo as author/creator
    • set the Language to English
  • If you are looking for a specific English translation of Tolstoy's Anna Karenina and you know the name of the translator, e.g. Edmonds, or the publisher, e.g. Penguin, add these terms to your search:
    • click Advanced Search
    • enter anna karenina in the title
    • enter tolstoy as author/creator 
    • enter edmonds as author/creator  OR penguin in Publisher
    • set the Language to English

Author's works

The translated title you want may be included in the author's translated collected texts.

Examples:

  • You are looking for English translations of works by Miguel de Unamuno in the library catalogue:
    • click Advanced Search
    • enter miguel unamuno as author/creator
    • Set the Language to English

Author's bibliographies

Authors' bibliographies may list titles of published translations of their single and collected works.

Examples:

  • You are looking for English language lists of books by and about Leo Tolstoy in the library:
    • click Advanced Search
    • enter leo tolstoy AND bibliography in the subject
    • set the Language to English

Collections in translation

Collections of specific literatures in translation may include the title you want.

Examples:

  • You are looking for English translations of collections of French language literature in the library catalogue:
    • use Basic Search
    • enter french literature AND translations AND english as containing my search terms in the subject

                        OR

  • enter english literature AND translations AND french as containing my search terms in the subject

Bibliographies of translations

Bibliographies of specific literatures in translation may include the title you seek.

Examples:

  • You are looking for lists of English translations of collections of French language literature in the library catalogue:
    • use Basic Search
    • enter french literature AND translations AND bibliography AND english as containing my search terms in the subject

                         OR

  • enter english literature AND translations AND bibliography AND french as containing my search terms in the subject