Architecture: Musagetes Architecture Library (ARCH 2109/2111)

Musagetes Library is located within the University of Waterloo's School of Architecture on the Cambridge campus. The library can be found on the second floor in room 2109/2111.

The building is accessible via WatCard tap access for those currently affiliated with the School of Architecture. Those without tap access interested in visiting the Musagetes Architecture Library should check in with Security upon arriving to gain access to the building.

Library and Service Hours

Musagetes Library is open:

• Monday to Thursday, 10 a.m. - 9 p.m.
• Friday 10 a.m. - 4 p.m.
• Sunday 12 p.m. - 5 p.m.

Service at the Library Help Desk is available:

• Monday to Thursday from 12 p.m. - 4 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. - 9 p.m.
• Friday 12 p.m. - 4 p.m.
• Sunday 12 p.m. - 5 p.m.

The hours of all University of Waterloo Libraries can also be found on the library homepage. 

Printing and photocopying at Musagetes Library requires payment via your WatCard. To add funds to your WatCard, visit the WatCard funds deposit page.

Printing:

Submitting a print job to the Library printer using WPrint

1. Login to uwaterloo.ca/uPrint.
2. Sign in using your WatIAM userID and password.
3. Go to Web Print and click Submit a Job
4. Select one of the following virtual printers:
   • arc-draft-11x17-BW-s-s-vx (11x17” Black & White Single Side Draft)
   • arc-draft-11x17-s-s-vx (11x17” Single Side Draft)
   • arc-draft-bw-vx (Architecture Draft Black & White 8.5x11" Letter)
   • arc-draft-colour-vx (Architecture Draft Colour 8.5x11" Letter)
   • Note: Library printer is DRAFT only
5. Select Print Options
6. Enter Number of Copies
7. Select Upload Documents
8. Drag or Upload Files from your computer
9. Select Upload and Complete

When Status changes to ‘Held in a Queue’ you can release the job one of two ways.

1. Select Jobs Pending Release and choose a printer from the list.
2. Release your print job at any of the Draft printers on campus.

Photocopying:

Single-sided copies:

1. Swipe your WatCard.
2. Lift the photocopier lid and align your document in the top left corner of the scanning area.
3. Close the lid and press 'start'.

Double-sided copies (8x11 only):

1. Swipe your WatCard.
2. Align document so that it fits perfectly in the paper feeder. You may have to adjust this!
3. Press 'start'.

Musagetes Library provides access to:

• A printer (which also acts as a scanner and photocopier)
• 4 computer workstations for students
• 1 public access computer for searching Omni, the library catalogue
• Rare Book Room housing one of Canada's most outstanding collections of rare books on architecture and design (see below for details)

Research Support

Musagetes' research librarian, Stephanie Mutch (smutch@uwaterloo.ca) is available to answer your research-related questions. She's here to support you at any stage of the research process, from developing a research strategy, to optimizing your database search, finding key sources, and accurately citing those sources. Email Stephanie with your questions, to set up an in-person or virtual research consultation, or to schedule a workshop for your class.

Musagetes' library associate, Katie Brightwell (kbrightwell@uwaterloo.ca) is available to answer your Geographic Information Systems (GIS)-related questions and support you as you learn to locate and use GIS data. Email Katie with your questions, to set up an in-person or virtual consultation, or to schedule a workshop for your class.

Additional Support

For support with holds, book pickups, course reserves, and more, submit your question to the Libraries' AskUs email service.

Is there a print book you'd like to borrow but it's at another library (for example, the Davis Centre Library on main campus)?  Follow these steps to request that a book be sent to Musagetes Library for you to pickup:

Step 1:  Search for the book in Omni, the library catalogue

Step 2:  Click on the book and under "Get It,"  choose "Sign in."  Sign in with your WatIAM.

Step 3:  Once you are signed in, scroll down again to "Get It" and click on "Get it from a Waterloo Library."

Step 4:  A form will appear, and under "Pickup Location,"  choose "Musagetes Architecture Library - Cambridge" and Send Request. Please note that when items arrive for pick-up, they will only be available during Help Desk service hours.

If you are unable to access the School of Architecture during the Help Desk hours, you can choose the "Books by Mail" option instead.

If you have chosen Books by Mail, wait for an email from the Library, where you will be asked to input the address you want the book to be mailed to.  You can choose any address (your office; home address, etc.).  There is no charge for this service.

You will receive an email notification when the requested resources are available for pick-up at Musagetes Library. Please attend the Help Desk during service hours, and let staff know that you have an item to pick-up on the Hold Shelf.

Due to their popularity, some architecture resources are placed in "controlled access" or on course reserve by instructors who want to ensure the material remains available for students in their course.

To sign-out a book from controlled access or course reserves, please attend the Help Desk during service hours. If you are unable to access the Library during Help Desk hours, you may use the AskUs email service to request an alternate arrangement.

Controlled access and course reserves items have limited borrowing periods, so that they are available for other students to use. 

Some course reserves are also available online. Login to the Course Reserves portal using your WatIAM to see which items are available in electronic format.

The following is an example of a controlled access book available at Musagetes Library:

Located within Musagetes Library is a separate, environmentally-controlled Rare Book Room housing one of Canada's most outstanding collections of rare books on architecture and design. Titles in the collection date from the sixteenth to the twenty-first centuries, and include the Rosa Breithaupt Clark collection and the William Dendy collection.

Using the collection

All rare book materials can be discovered though Omni, the library catalogue.

Please contact us to book an appointment to view resources from the Rare Book collections, and include a list of the materials you would like to view.

Please note, items in the Rare Book collections cannot be shipped to other locations.