We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Introduction
This Library guide specifically supports EARTH 121, and has been designed to help students locate, use, and cite, high-quality information as part of learning Earth and Environmental Sciences. This guide is intended as an introduction, and if you ever have questions about using this guide or where to start looking for information, please feel welcome to email Ryan using the link in his profile below. Ryan is always happy to help, and is available to answer questions via email, or by meeting in person or on MS Teams.
Before beginning your search for information, it is important to understand the assignment instructions and rubric criteria, to understand your professors' expectations. This will help you determine what you are looking for, and where you should search. Your assignment instructions can be accessed through EARTH 121 in LEARN by clicking "Content" on the course navigation bar, and then "Assessments" from the "Table of Contents" menu. The resources provided in this guide will be particularly relevant to the Study Site Assessment.
Reference material: Learning definitions of terms and concepts
Reference materials such as encyclopedias and dictionaries are authoritative sources written by subject matter experts to define important terms and concepts to help you build your foundational knowledge.
Two sources that are great starting points for looking up specialized Earth and Environmental Science terms are:
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by ISBN: 9780199653065Publication Date: 2013-08-01Contains over 7,500 clear and concise entries on all aspects of geology and earth sciences, including planetary science, volcanology, palaeontology, and mineralogy. Over 130 line drawings complement the definitions and useful appendices include a revised geological time scale, stratigraphic units, lunar and Martian time scales, wind-strength scales, and SI units.
Glossary of Geology by The online Glossary provides access to the more than 39,000 glossary entries. Users can learn the difference between look-alike pairs, such as sylvanite (a mineral) and sylvinite (a rock); the origin of terms; the meaning of abbreviations and acronyms common in the geoscience vocabulary; the dates many terms were first used; the meaning of certain prefixes; and the preferred term of two or more synonyms. Many Glossary entries contain a syllabification guide and background information
Key Databases for Earth & Environmental Sciences
Databases contain articles, conference proceedings, and reviews: they are great places to get started on your research!
The Library subscribes to many databases to give you access to academic articles you won't be able to find freely available online.
The following databases are particularly helpful for conducting research in Earth and Environmental Sciences:
- GEOSCANBibliographic database for scientific publications of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan).
Coverage: pre-confederation to present
- Earth & Environmental SciencesList of article databases that pertain to earth & environmental sciences; some are specialized and others are general. Get more information about each via the "more" link.
- Environment, Resources & SustainabilityList of article databases that pertain to environment, resources, & sustainability; some are specialized and others are general. Get more information about each via the "more" link.
- Geologic Guidebooks of North America DatabaseThe Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database consists of references to geologic field trip guidebooks of North America (United States, Canada, Mexico). Most of the guidebooks cited are from the period 1940-the present. The database is updated monthly and contains more than 10,000 references.
Textbook for EARTH 121
The textbook that your instructor(s) have chosen for your course is:
Tarbuck, Lutgens, Tsujita, and Hicock, (2019) Earth: An Introduction to Physical Geology, (Updated 4th Canadian Edition). Pearson.
The Library also has two physical copies available at Davis Centre Library. Your professors have placed a copy of this book on "Course Reserve", where it has been limited to 2 hour loans to ensure everyone has opportunities to borrow it.
To borrow this item:
- Please visit Davis Centre Library. For those unfamiliar with UWaterloo's campus, our Library is on the main floor of Davis Centre, marked on this campus map as DC.
- Your WatCard is also your Library card, make sure you have this with you. At the Circulation Desk, please ask for the book on Reserve with the call number "QE28.2 .T372 2015", as this is how our books are organized for staff to quickly find them for you.
- You can then borrow the book for 2 hours at a time.
- If you have any questions, please feel welcome to ask our friendly desk staff as they're always happy to help!
Earth : an introduction to physical geology by Call Number: QE28.2 .T372 2015ISBN: 9780321865434Publication Date: 2015Earth is a very small part of a vast universe, but it is our home. It provides the resources that support our modern society and the ingredients necessary to maintain life. Knowledge of our physical environment is critical to our well-being and vital to our survival. A basic geology course can help a person gain such an understanding. It can also take advantage of the interest and curiosity many of us have about our planet--its landscapes and the processes that create and alter them. The 4th Canadian edition of Earth: An Introduction to Physical Geology, like its predecessors, is a college-level text that is intended to be a meaningful, non-technical survey for students taking their first course in geology. In addition to being informative and up-to-date, a major goal of Earth is to meet the need of students for a readable and user-friendly text, a book that is a highly-usable "tool" for learning the basic principles and concepts of geology.
Citing with APA citation style
To be an effective communicator in science and for EARTH 121, your professor has specified that you should learn and use APA citation style for your assignments.
- To help understand APA citation style requirements, the University of Waterloo's Writing and Communications Centre has created this guide on correctly using APA.
- Purdue University's Online Writing Lab's APA guide is an excellent resource you should also consult. It contains:
- APA Formatting and Style Guide, This contains detailed citation examples for several different types of resources. To navigate their APA guide, refer to the navigation column on the left for specifics.
- APA Poster, this conveniently consolidates key points you can refer to at a glance.
- Utilizing reference management software is a great way to efficiently organize your research. The University of Waterloo's Library has created a guide to help you get started with Zotero.
Why citing your sources is important
Using high quality evidence in your research and writing is essential to acting with integrity. Clearly showing the evidence you've utilized ensures your credibility, the safety of those who depend on your work, and your reputation. Additionally, by properly citing your sources of information, you situate your work in larger scholarly conversations to demonstrate how your work adds value, and fits within the collective body of knowledge.