Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks (ProQuest): Creating Bibliographies

This guide is for the updated version of RefWorks. RefWorks is a software that enables you to manage and organize research papers and documents. You can read annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with others.

Exporting Bibliographies in RefWorks

You can easily create a bibliography from the All Documents area, any collection or your search results list.

Navigate to the collection you want to use (or All Documents area or run a search and select items) and click the Create bibliography icon 

You can choose to create a bibliography for selected references or for all of the reference in the collection (or in All Documents if that's the view you are in).

Next, search for your output style and select it.  Your formatted bibliography will be displayed in your browser for you to copy and paste into any word processing software.

To use a custom output style from your RefWorks account, click here.

Creating a LaTeX Compatible Bibliography

Creating a LaTeX compatible bibliography is straightforward.

1. Click on "Create Bibliography."

2. Select BibTex – RefWorks ID* from the list of citation styles.

3.RefWorks will generate a LaTeX compatible bibliography that will look something like this:

4. Save that file as a .bib, or copy and paste it into a document and save it as a .bib file.

5. To import bibliography into a document insert the following tags:

\bibliographystyle{style} should go just inside your \begin{document} command.

\bibliography{filename} should go wherever you want LaTeX to generate the bibliography. filename.bib is the name of the file that you just downloaded from RefWorks containing your exported references.

6. For in-text citations insert the following tag:

Insert the command \cite{RefWorks:#} where "#" is the RefWorks ID number of the reference you are citing.