Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Germanistik Online Datenbank
- The leading international database focusing on German language and literary studies. Includes books, collections and journals from the areas of literature, theatre studies, media studies, cultural history, and linguistics.
- BDSL Online
- Electronic equivalent of Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft, covering all aspects of German language and literature. Includes books, pamphlets, articles, dissertations, reviews, etc. Indexes international (but primarily German) periodicals.
- Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur : KLG
- Biographical entries on contemporary German authors.
- MLA International Bibliography
- The MLAIB offers detailed subject indexing for publications in literature, languages, linguistics, drama/theatre, and folklore. Indexes journals, books, theses, conference proceedings, etc. The 1884-1925 coverage is limited to journal articles. Excludes book reviews.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
- Covers all aspects of the study of language including applied linguistics, sociolinguistics, psycholinguistics, discourse analysis/text linguistics, semantics, etc.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other related fields.
- Language Teaching
- An international abstracting journal reporting up-to-date research in second and foreign language learning and teaching. Offers authoritative coverage of all significant international work combined with particularly comprehensive coverage of European scholarship and research. The best of the current work is is selected and summarized in English. Annual research reviews identify significant and emerging research trends over the previous year.
- Union catalogue of German serial titles.
- BLLDB is the online version of the Bibliography of Linguistic Literature (BLL). It is a valuable source for linguistics in general, and for English, German and Romance (Italian and Spanish) linguistics in particular. The bibliography includes: journal articles; articles of conference proceedings; monographs; dissertations; and Festschrifts.
- BITRA: Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation
- Comprises more than 41,000 entries (books, chapters, articles, journals, Ph.D. dissertations), with about 12,000 abstracts, more than 20,000 citations in the Impact field, and more than 1,500 tables of contents, making up a database on translation and interpreting. Searchable by subject, author, publisher, language, etc. and provides access abstracts and/or the table of contents of many documents.
- German Canadiana in Ontario (GCO)
- The database helps researchers identify information relating to the experiences of German speakers and their descendants in Ontario. GCO's scholarly and popular sources cover historical, literary, cultural, linguistic, and biographical aspects. The content draws from a range of sources, including Elizabeth Bloomfield's Waterloo Regional History Bibliography System. GCO is a joint project of Waterloo Centre for German Studies and University of Waterloo Library and will be continuously updated, as new information becomes available.