Germanic Studies: Applied linguistics

Research methods

• Richards, Keith. Research methods for applied language studies.

• Continuum companion to research methods in applied linguistics.

• Dörnyei, Zoltán. Research methods in applied linguistics : quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methodologies.

Dictionaries and encyclopædias (print)

Language and Linguistics

• Bussmann, Hadumod. Lexikon der Sprachwissenschaft.

• Bussmann, Hadumod. Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics.

• Concise Encyclopedia of Philosophy of Language and Linguistics.

• Crystal, David. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language.

• Crystal, David. A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics.

• Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education.

• An Encyclopaedia of Language.

• The Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics.

• Handbook of Foreign Language Communication and Learning.

• The Linguistics Encyclopedia.

• Metzler Lexikon Sprache.

• Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning.

• The Routledge Handbook of Language Learning and Technology.

Applied Linguistics

• Johnson, Keith. Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Linguistics.

• Davies, Alan. The Handbook of Applied Linguistics.

• Kaplan, Robert. The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics.

• Richards, Jack C. Longman Dictionary of Language Teaching and Applied Linguistics.

• The Routledge Handbook of Applied Linguistics.

Conversation Analysis

• The Handbook of Conversation Analysis.

German as a Foreign Language

• Deutsch als Fremdsprache: Ein internationales Handbuch.

German Grammar

• Duden, Grammatik der deutschen Gegenwartssprache.

Pragmatics

• Allott, Nicholas. Key Terms in Pragmatics.

• The Cambridge Handbook of Pragmatics.

Sociolinguistics

• Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics.

• Handbook of Language and Social Psychology.

• Oxford Handbook of Sociolinguistics.

• Sociolinguistics: An International Handbook of the Science of Language and Society = Soziolinguistik: Ein internationales Handbuch zur Wissenschaft von Sprache und Gesellschaft.

Dictionaries and encyclopædias (online)

Language and Linguistics

• The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics

• Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics

• Encyclopedia of Rhetoric 

• Glottopedia

  • A freely editable, multilingual encyclopedia for linguists by linguists. Contains dictionary articles on all technical terms of linguistics.

• International Encyclopedia of Linguistics 

• Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism 

  • An encyclopedic guide to critical theory. Particularly relevant to literature and linguistic studies.

• Lexicon of Linguistics

• Online-Wörterbücher zur Linguistik

 Applied Linguistics

• The Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics 

• Handbook of Applied Linguistics    

Translating

• Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies 

Websites

• APPLIED LINGUISTICS

• Bibliografien zur Linguistik/Literaturlisten (Institut für Deutsche Sprache, Mannheim)

• DMOZ: Applied Linguistics

  • A searchable, comprehensive directory.

• Deutsch als Fremdsprache (Freie Universitat Berlin)

  • No longer maintained since 2013. Collection of relevant links.

• Ethnologue.com

  • Provides many resources for research of the world's languages.

• Human Language: Resources from Linguistics and Beyond

  • Introduces and reviews language-related Internet sites covering computational linguistics, as well as linguistics per se.

• iLoveLanguages

  • A comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources.

• Intute: Applied Linguistics

  • Closed in July 2011. Search gathers links to resources.

• Intute: German Linguistics

  • Closed in July 2011. Search gathers links to resources.

• IRIS: A Digital Repository of Data Collection Instruments for Research into Second Language Learning and Teaching

• The Linguist List: International Linguistics Community Online

  • Provides information on language and language analysis including discussions, tools, resources, bibliographies. Maintained by linguistics professors and students.

• Linguistic Resources on the Internet

  • "A topically organized list of resources elsewhere on the Internet that may be of interest to the linguist."

• Linguistik (Freie Universitat Berlin)

  • No longer maintained since 2013. Collection of relevant links.

Organizations and people

• ACLA: Association canadienne de linguistique appliquée/CAAL: Canadian Association of Applied Linguistics

  • The main objective is the promotion of research and teaching in all areas of applied linguistics across Canada.

• AILA: Association internationale de linguistique appliquée/International Association of Applied Linguistics

  • Members actively contribute to the development of all subject areas of applied linguistics.

• American Association for Applied Linguistics

  • "AAAL members promote principled approaches to language-related concerns, including language education, acquisition and loss, bilingualism, discourse analysis, literacy, rhetoric and stylistics, language for special purposes, psycholinguistics, second and foreign language pedagogy, language assessment, and language policy and planning."

• CAL: Center for Applied Linguistics

  • "The Center for Applied Linguistics is dedicated to providing a comprehensive range of research-based information, tools, and resources related to language and culture."

• CALICO: The Computer Assisted Language Instruction Consortium

  • "CALICO, the Computer-Assisted Language Instruction Consortium is an international organization dedicated to research and development in the use of computer technology in language learning: computer-assisted language learning (CALL)."

• Centre for Research on Language Contact (CRLC)

  • Promotes research at York University in the area of "language contact in a multilingual country such as Canada and in the context of increased internationalization."

• EUROCALL: European Association for Computer-Assisted Language Learning

  • Aims "to provide a European focus for the promulgation of innovative research, development and practice relating to the use of technologies for language learning."

• GAL: Gesellschaft für Angewandte Linguistik

  • Bündelt "Aktivitäten und Initiativen, die sich auf die Erforschung und Optimierung  von Kommunikationsprozessen in alltäglichen und professionellen Anwendungsfeldern richten: in der Wirtschaft, in Justiz und Verwaltung, im Gesundheitswesen, in Bildungseinrichtungen, in Massenmedien, u.a."

• SGL: Society for Germanic Linguistics

  • Serves "the broad community of scholars teaching and researching in Germanic Linguistics and Philology. The international membership of the SGL embraces all areas of and approaches to Germanic linguistics and philology, from formal syntax and phonology through historical linguistics to textual editing."

• The Linguist List: People & Programs

  • Provides information and access to people, directory of linguists, programs, societies, etc.

Journals

• Applied Linguistics

  • v. I Issue 1 (Spring 1980)-

• Bilingualism: Language and Cognition

  • v. 1 (1998)-

• Cognition

  • v. 1 issue 1 (1972)-

• Forum Deutsch

  • 16 (2008)-

• International journal of Applied Linguistics

  • v. 1, issue 1 (1991)-

• International Journal of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism

  • v. 1, issue 1 (1998)-

• International Journal of Multilingualism

  • v. 1, issue 1 (2004)-

• Journal of Comparative Germanic Linguistics

  • v.1 (1997)-

• Journal of Germanic Linguistics

  • v. 13 (2001)-

• Journal of language, identity, and education

  • v. 1 (2002)-

• Journal of linguistics (Cambridge Journals Online)

  • v. 33 (1997)-

• Journal of Multicultural Discourses

  • v. 1, no. 1 (2006)-

• Journal of Multilingual and Multicultural Development

  • v. 17, no. 1 (1996)-

• Language Acquisition

  • v. 6 (1997)-

• Language and Education

  • v. 10, no. 1 (1996)-

• Language and Intercultural Communication

  • v. 1, no. 1 (2001)-

• Language Awareness

  • v. 7, no. 1 (1998)-

• Language, culture and curriculum

  • v. 11, no. 1 (1998)-

• Language learning: A Journal of Research in Language Studies

  • v. 1, issue 1 (Jan. 1948)-

• Language Learning & Technology LL&T

  • v. 9, no. 3 (September 2005)-

• Literary and linguistic computing

  • v. 16(4) (Dec. 2001)-

• Second Language Research

  • v. 1, issue1 (1985)-

• Studies in Second Language Acquisition

  • v. 19, issue 1 (1997)-