Germanic Studies: Books

Library catalogues

• University of Waterloo Library

• Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog

  • Search engine for books in libraries in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland; also searches catalogues from some non-German countries.

• Library of Congress

  • The de facto national library of the United States.

• Deutsche Nationalbibliothek

• Österreichische Nationalbibliothek

Book reviews

• BDSL Online

  • Journal database that includes book reviews.

• Factiva

  • Worldwide digital archive of newspapers as well as magazines. Both current and retrospective. Includes book reviews.

• Germanistik Online Datenbank

  • Journal database that includes book reviews. Library has: 1960 to present.

• H-Net Reviews

  • A database of scholarly reviews for works in the humanities and social sciences.

• Innsbrucker Zeitungsarchiv

  • Articles and reviews in the fields of literature, language, theatre, and film.

• Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen wissenschaftlicher Literatur (IBR)

  • Library has: 1971-1987.

• NexisUni

  • Worldwide digital archive of newspapers, magazines, wire services, blogs and more. Both current and retrospective. Includes book reviews. Library has: Varies by database. In Library login with your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.

• Perlentaucher.de

  • Provides overview of book reviews that have been published in a range of main German newspapers.

Waterloo faculty monographs

Current

Betz, Emma

• Grammar and Interaction Pivots in German Conversation (2008)

Boehringer, Michael

• The Telling Tactics of Narrative Strategies in Tieck, Kleist, Stifter, and Storm (1999)

Kuzniar, Alice

• Delayed Endings: Nonclosure in Novalis and Hölderlin (1987)

• Outing Goethe and His Age (1996)

• The Queer German Cinema (2000)

• Melancholia's Dog (2006)

• The Birth of Homeopathy out of the Spirit of Romanticism (2017)

Liebscher, Grit

• Language, Space, and Identity in Migration (2013)

Malone, Paul

• Franz Kafka's The Trial: Four Stage Adaptations (2003)

Rasmussen, Ann Marie

• Mothers and Daughters in Medieval German Literature (1997)

Schmenk, Barbara

• Geschlechtsspezifisches Fremdsprachenlernen? Zur Konstruktion geschlechtstypischer Lerner- und Lernbilder in der Fremdsprachenforschung (2002)

• Lernerautonomie : Karriere und Sloganisierung des Autonomiebegriffs (2008)

Skidmore, James

• The Trauma of Defeat: Ricarda Huch's Historiography During the Weimar Republic (2005)

Retired

Brude-Firnau, Gisela

• Die literarische Deutung Kaiser Wilhelms II. zwischen 1889-1989 (1997)

Dyck, J. William (1918-1998)

• Der Instinkt der Verwandtschaft : Heinrich von Kleist und Friedrich Nietzsche, Thomas Mann, Franz Kafka, Bertolt Brecht (1982)

Hoefert, Sigfrid

• West-Östliches in der Lyrik Johannes Bobrowskis (1966)

• Das Drama des Naturalismus (1968)

• Gerhart Hauptmann (1974)

• Gerhart Hauptmann und der Film : mit unveröffentlichten Filmentwürfen des Dichters (1996)

John, David

• The German Nachspiel in the Eighteenth Century (1991)

• Images of Goethe through Schiller's Egmont (1998)

• Bennewitz, Goethe, Faust: German and Intercultural Stagings (2012)

Kuxdorf, Manfred

• Die Suche nach dem Menschen im Drama Georg Kaisers (1971)

• Beobachtungen zur Entwicklung der Deutschen Sprache im Waterloo County, Ontario (1979)

• Der Schriftsteller Solomo Friedlaender/Mynona : Kommentator einer Epoche : eine Monographie (1990)

Richter, Manfred

• The Phonemic System of the Pennsylvania German Dialect in Waterloo County (1969)

Germanic call number ranges

• D – History of Europe

  • DB1-879 – history of Austria

  • DD – history of Germany

  • DJ – history of the Netherlands

  • DL – history of Northern Europe and Scandinavia

• P - Language and literature

  • P – philology and linguistics

  • PD – Germanic languages

  • PF – West Germanic languages

    • PF1-979 – Dutch

    • PF1001-1184 – Flemish

    • PF1401-1541 – Frisian

    • PF3001-5999 – German

  • PT – Germanic literature

    • PT1-4897 – German literature

    • PT5001-5980 – Dutch literature