Germanic Studies: Dictionaries

Print

Monolingual dictionaries

• Duden: Das grosse Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache in zehn Bänden

• Wahrig, Gerhard. Deutsches Wörterbuch.

Bilingual dictionaries

• Collins German-English, English-German dictionary: Unabridged

• The Oxford Duden German Dictionary: German-English, English-German

• PONS Collins Deutsch-Englisch, Englisch-Deutsch

Etymology

• Bluhme, Hermann. Etymologisches Wörterbuch des deutschen Grundwortschatzes.

• Duden Herkunftswörterbuch: Etymologie der deutschen Sprache.

• Kluge, Friedrich. Etymologisches Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache.

Foreign words and phrases

• Duden, das grosse Fremdwörterbuch.

• Horx, Matthias. Trendwörter von Acid bis Zippies.

Grammar and usage

• Duden, Grammatik der deutschen Gegenwartssprache.

• Duden richtiges und gutes Deutsch.

• Durrell, Martin. Using German: A Guide to Contemporary Usage.

• The Oxford German Dictionary and Grammar.

Historical dictionaries

• Grimm, Jacob. Deutsches Wörterbuch.

Idioms

• Drosdowski, Günther. Duden, Redewendungen und sprichwörtliche Redensarten.

• Griesbach, Heinz. 1000 deutsche Redensarten.

• Köster, Rudolf. Duden Redensarten: Herkunft und Bedeutung.

• Röhrich, Lutz. Das grosse Lexikon der sprichwörtlichen Redensarten.

• Schemann, Hans. Synonymwörterbuch der deutschen Redensarten.

Orthography and spelling

• Duden: Die deutsche Rechtschreibung.

Quotations

• Büchmann, Georg. Geflügelte Worte: der Zitatenschatz des deutschen Volkes.

• Schmidt, Lothar. Das grosse Handbuch geflügelter Definitionen.

• Eichelberger, Ursula. Zitatenlexikon.

Rhetoric

• Historisches Wörterbuch der Rhetorik.

Synonyms

• Durrell, Martin. Using German Synonyms.

• Lexikon der Synonyme.

• Peltzer, Karl. Das treffende Wort : Wörterbuch sinnverwandter Ausdrücke.

• Radszuweit, Siegrid. Knaurs Lexikon der sinnverwandten Wörter.

Online

Bilingual dictionaries

• LEO

  • An online dictionary in 8 languages plus other language tools

• Linguee

  • Includes samples of the researched words used in Internet texts

• PONS Online Dictionary

  • An online dictionary in eleven languages

• Oxford Dictionaries 

  • Bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials (grammar guides, writing information, and cultural information)

• The Oxford Duden German Dictionary: German-English/English-German

  • Provides comprehensive coverage of modern English and German; sensitive to cultural and geographic nuances  

• YourDictionary

  • Foreign Language Online Dictionaries and Free Translation Links.Links to more than 600 dictionaries in 150 different languages

Abbreviations

• Abkuerzungen.de

  • Provides the long term of an abbreviation or an acronym.

Business German

• German/English Business Glossary

Historical dictionaries

• Adelung Wörterbuch

  • All four volumes of this 1811 dictionary are available in full text

• Deutsches Wörterbuch von Jacob und Wilhelm Grimm

• Mittelhochdeutsches Wörterbuch

Idioms

• Phrasen.com

  • A dictionary of English-German, German-English idioms (figures of speech, phrases, sayings, maxims, etc.)

• Redensarten: Wörterbuch für Redensarten, Redewendungen usw.

Specialized dictionaries

• German-English Glossary

  • English-language equivalents for German terms used in electronic databases

• YourDictionary

  • Includes specialty dictionary links under specific language dictionaries

Synonyms

• Openthesaurus.de: Synonyme und Assoziationen