Germanic Studies: Websites

Language

• Deutsch als Fremdsprache

• Human language: Resources from linguistics and beyond

• 10 Ways To Find Simple German Texts and Stories For Beginners Online

• Live Lingua

  • A compilation of free language learning materials.

Literature

• Kalliope Verbundkatalog

  • Inventory of German Nachläße

• Cultures in Translation (Goethe Institut)

  • Links to translations of German language authors.

• German Studies: German Language & Literature (University of Manitoba)

  • Gathers links in support of the programs offered in the Department of German & Slavic Studies.

• Innsbrucker Zeitungsarchiv

  • Focuses on literary criticism, research and reception.

• literaturwelt.de: das literaturportal

  • A starting point to everything about literature.

• Litrix.de: German Literature Online.

  • Features new books, provides brief bio-bibliographical information for contemporary authors, information on translation activities, reviews, and many other useful links.

• New Books in German

• BILD-Bestseller-Liste

• Sophie: Digital Library of Works by German-Speaking Women

  • "The Sophie Digital Library is an open-access, full-text searchable source of literature written by German-speaking women from medieval times through the early 20th century."

Film and theatre

• DEFA Film Library: [East] German Cinema & Beyond since 1993

  • DEFA Memories

• filmlink.de

• Filmlinks (Nachschlage.NET)

• The Guide to German Film (Goethe-Institut)

Culture

• Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB)

  • The aim is to offer unrestricted access to Germany's cultural and scientific heritage, i.e., books, archives, images, art, music, films and film scrores, etc. An ongoing project.

• Deutschland.de: Your link to Germany

• Facts about Germany This website is a service by Frankfurter Societäts-Medien GmbH, Frankfurt am Main, in cooperation with the Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

• UNESCO World Heritage List Search architectural works by country.

• German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) A "collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present."

Digital humanities

• Digital Humanities in German: Home

  • Information about DH research in Germany & worldwide

General

• Germanistik im Internet - Erlanger Liste

  • Organized into categories.

• Germanistik im Netz (GiN)

  • Subject portal for German language and literature.

• Literary Theory: A guide to critical theory resources on the Internet

• Recherche: Bibliographieren im Internet: Literaturrecherche in Bibliotheken, Datenbanken und Bibliographien

  • "A comprehensive collection of links to bibliographic resources for academics" (Michael Mandelartz, Meiji University)

• Research Tools for German (University of California, Berkeley)

  • A handy collection of research tools organized by type.

• Link Catalogue: Germany on the Internet (Goethe-Institut)

• ZDB OPAC

  • The Zeitschriftendatenbank (ZDB) is the German union catalogue of journal and newspaper titles, with locations of owning libraries.

• Illegitimate and Predatory Publishing

  • Guide from the University of Pittsburgh

• Href

  • A blog "dedicated to the use of digitized primary source materials in studying, teaching, and researching German and global history."