Research guides: Stratford Campus : Academic Research

Academic Research

Academic sources might include journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. You may be asked to find peer-reviewed articles or need to locate news articles. The Library has access to many databases for this type of research - including many specialized databases for specific research topics - but the databases I recommend most are listed here.

If you're not sure if academic research is necessary for the topic you're looking into, this course on Everyday vs. Academic Research might help you decide.

Everyday vs Academic Research
This module will introduce you to the difference between Everyday Research and Academic Research and will provide guidance on where to find academic information.
Anatomy of Journal Articles
This module focuses on understanding the main sections and elements you will discover when reading through academic scholarly journal articles.

How to Search in Academic Databases

Searching in academic databases can be less intuitive than other places that we search. Often these tools require more human input to return good results: you may have to break down your ideas into key words and phrases and use different techniques to connect them so that the database understands what you're asking for. Take a look at the resource below for tips on how to search effectively - and ask your librarian if you need help with your specific research question!

Advanced Database Searching in JSTOR
In this module, you will learn advanced database searching strategies that will help you get the most out of the JSTOR database.
Advanced Database Searching in ProQuest
In this module, you will learn advanced database searching strategies that will help you get the most out of the ProQuest database.
Advanced Database Searching in Scopus
In this module, you will learn advanced database searching strategies that will help you get the most out of the Scopus database.
How to Add Get it@Waterloo to Google Scholar (PDF)

Databases for Academic Content

Google Scholar
A search engine covering many disciplines and sources of scholarly literature.
Coverage: varies
Google Scholar is a search engine that emphasizes scholarly information, particularly in the sciences and technology. It draws from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities.

Note: Access To access materials paid for by your library, go to Google Scholar, then choose Settings and click "Library Links." The off-campus user will first need to login via "Get access from anywhere."
JSTOR
Provides access to back issues of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences, many of which date from the 1800s.
Coverage: varies (excludes current 3 to 5 years)
ProQuest
A platform with many databases of journal indexes and abstracts, as well as some with full text
Coverage: Varies
This online platform hosts multiple resources.
Scopus
Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present