We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
News and Business Research
News and business research is different to academic research. News articles are published more frequently than journal articles can be, and some of the indicators we would normally use to determine the quality of a source don't apply. For example, news articles aren't peer reviewed, but we can still find reputable sources.
Take a look at the module below for more information on news sources.
-
News SourcesThis module will help learners understand how to evaluate, find, and utilize news from various sources, such as newspapers and newspaper databases available at the Library.
Databases for News and Business Articles
-
ABI/INFORM
Articles on business and management from U.S. and international journals and trade magazines, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and product development.
Coverage: 1971 - present -
Business Source EliteProvides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals.
Coverage: 1985 - present -
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)Full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relating to business, culture, current events, education, language, agriculture, history, and politics in Canada.
Coverage: 1982 - present -
FactivaNews, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication -
Nexis Uni
News, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present
Specific News Sources - Where to Get Access
-
Bloomberg BusinessweekBusiness magazine, publishing information and opinions about the business world.
-
EconomistThe Economist is a British weekly newspaper. It focuses on current affairs, international business, politics, technology, and culture.
-
ForbesSource for news coverage and in-depth profiles of entrepreneurs and companies - including hard-to-find information on startups and privately held firms.
-
Fortune MagazineBusiness magazine known for its company rankings. Browse articles by issue/date or search within this publication.
-
Globe and MailThe Globe and Mail is a Canadian newspaper, regarded by some as Canada's "newspaper of record".
-
Harvard Business ReviewBroad business publication with topics ranging from management to marketing as well as innovation, technology and entrepreneurship.
-
MIT Technology ReviewQuarterly business publication focused on identifying and analyzing emerging technologies.
-
ScopusPeer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.