Pharmacy : Finding Published Market Research

This Pharmacy Research Guide brings together information resources relevant to Pharmacy and Pharmacology.

Secondary research involves searching for information that's already been published to help find answers to your questions. Typically, you will do secondary research before you do primary research, because it's less costly and time-consuming. You might need to use a mix of the resources below to do a thorough job in researching your company, idea, or problem space.

Market & Industry Data

Frost & Sullivan
Provides market research and analysis.
Coverage: varies
Note: Users can view, but not download documents online. If you require PDFs, send your request to the Engineering Reference Team
IBISWorld
Provides market research reports for Canadian and US industries.
Coverage: current
MarketLine Advantage
Information, news and market reports for international companies, industries and countries.
Coverage: current
MarketLine Advantage can be browsed by Industries, Geographics, Companies, and Databases. The databases include: Country Statistics, Financial Deals Tracker, Company Prospector, Investment & Advisory Prospector, Company Report Generator, City Statistics, City Data, and Market Data Analysis.

PitchBook
NOTE: New users have to create an account with their Waterloo email address to access PitchBook.
more...less...
PitchBook provides access to private capital markets, including venture capital funding, private equity, and M&A transactions. Helpful for tracking startups and small companies.

Statista
Provides over 1 million statistics, data, and facts from over 600 industries and 50+ countries.
Coverage:Varies

News Sources

Factiva
News, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Business Source Elite
Provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals.
Coverage: 1985 - present
ABI/INFORM
Articles on business and management from U.S. and international journals and trade magazines, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and product development.
Coverage: 1971 - present
Includes scholarly journals, trade magazines, working papers, market research, and company profiles.

Business & Financial Publications

Bloomberg Businessweek
Businessweek is available through Business Source Elite. Search "Bloomberg Businessweek" as the Publication Name to find content.
The Economist
The Economist is available through ABI Inform. Search for "The Economist" as the Publication Title.
Globe and Mail
The Globe and Mail is available through Factiva. To search for Globe and Mail content exclusively, select Globe and Mail as your Source.
Harvard Business Review
Harvard Business Review is available through Business Source Elite. Search for "Harvard Business Review" as Publication Name.
MIT Technology Review
MIT Technology Review is available through ABI/Inform. Search for "MIT Technology Review" as publication title in the database.

Academic Sources

Scopus
Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present