Research guides: Optometry and Vision Science Research Guide: Ocular pharmacology

Standards of Practice

Section 4.4: The Use and Prescribing of Drugs
From the College of Optometrists of Ontario, The Optometric Practice Reference - Standards of Practice.

The complete OPR - Standards of Practice
From the College of Optometrists of Ontario, The Optometric Practice Reference - Standards of Practice.

Health Canada Drug Information

DPD: Drug Product Database (Health Canada)
Search the Drug Product Database (DPD) to find drugs authorized for sale by Health Canada.
Canadian Vigilance Adverse Reaction Database (Health Canada)
Contains information about suspected adverse reactions (also known as side effects) to health products. Updated daily.
Drugs and Health Products (Health Canada)
Health Canada's complete compendium of drug and health product information, organized by subject and updated daily.
Notice of Compliance Database (Health Canada)
Contains Notice of Compliance (NOC) information on human drugs approved for use in Canada from January 1, 1994 to present. Updated nightly by Health Canada.

Search Strategies

To find resources on Ocular Pharmacology, search for subject headings "in the subject" field in our catalogue. Sort the results by date to view the most current.

Subject Headings in our Catalogue

Drug interactions
Ocular pharmacology
Ophthalmic drugs
Therapeutics, ophthalmological

Key medical databases

Medline
Literature in biomedicine, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Coverage: 1950 - present

Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), Medline provides citations, many with abstracts, to the world's journal literature. Sources include current biomedical journals published in more than 70 countries.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
PubMed
Articles in medicine, life sciences, animal sciences, plant sciences, biomedical research, medical devices, nursing, biotechnology, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences.
Coverage: 1950 - present

PubMed is comprised of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

Drug Point of Care (POC) Tools and Resources

Featured

CPS

Detailed drug and disease information, drug-food interactions, drug-drug interactions, calculators, dosing tools, and patient handouts.
Coverage: current

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp)
Drug information. Clinical decision support tools. Access through mobile app is not available through Waterloo subscription
Coverage: Current

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
UpToDate
Comprehensive evidence-based medical information written and peer-reviewed by and for practicing clinicians.
Coverage: Continuously updated

Note: You will be asked to authenticate yourself as a member of the University of Waterloo community using your last name and barcode.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

Additional Resources

AccessPharmacy (Drug Monographs)
Drug Monographs. Search by generic or trade name, drug class, alphabetically, and find patient handouts.
Drugs.com
The Drugs.com Is an American drug information database powered by four independent medical-information suppliers: Wolters Kluwer Health, American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Cerner Multum and IBM Watson Micromedex. Individual drug (or drug-class) content compiled by these sources is peer reviewed and delivered by Drugs.com.
Drugs@FDA
Drugs approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
MedlinePlus Drugs
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, and a part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Medscape
Drug monographs, diseases and condition articles with images and step-by-step videos, and reference tools like pill identifier and medical calculators.
MicroMedex
Information and evidence for drug identification, toxicology, interactions, acute care, and alternative medicine. CareNotes contain monographs about care and medications at a consumer level in several languages.
Natural Medicine
Evidence-based resource on natural therapeutics.
USP-NF Online
USP–NF is a combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). Monographs for drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations are featured in the USP, as well as monographs for dietary supplements. Excipient monographs are in the NF. Registration required.

Merck Manuals of Diagnosis and Therapy

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy: PROFESSIONAL version
Updated monthly to keep current with the changes in medical care and to provide accurate clinical decision support. Includes browsable sections on medical topics, audiovisual informational resources, symptoms overviews, clinical calculators, conversion tables, drug tables, normal laboratory values, and more.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy: CONSUMER version
Find information on medical topics, symptoms, emergencies, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language, either by searching under main topics or by keyword search.