Research guides: Optometry and Vision Science Research Guide: Databases, scholarly research and literature

Need More Help? Connect with me

For help with customized literature searches, using boolean logic, formatting research posters and media, critical appraisal and reading scientific literature, and lots more, connect with me online. E-mail me or Book a virtual meeting with me on Microsoft Teams.
Brie McConnell, MLIS Liaison Librarian

What is a research database?

A database is a collection of digital material that have been catalogued and professionally curated to a set of standards and peer-review. Note that Google Scholar for example, is NOT a research database; it is actually a web search engine.

Three common types of research databases, are

bibliographic databases, such as the library catalogue;
abstract databases (or citation indexes), such as Scopus or Web of Science;
and full-text databases, like Medline or Embase.

The most common digital items in databases are journal articles, however databases can also be dedicated to theses, patents, and more. Databases are powerful research tools for accessing indexed journal articles and publications from scholars, professionals, and field experts. Choosing the correct database for your search is important, as a database can cover a wide variety of topics from psychology, education, clinical medicine, and more.

Contact lens databases

Contact Lens Compendium
The Contact Lens Compendium is an up-to-date listing of contact lenses and solutions available in either Canada or the USA. It is available for free as a searchable online database for Canadian/American eye care professionals.

Popular research databases with ophthalmic coverage

Cochrane Library
Articles on evidence-based medicine, including systematic reviews, clinical trials and health technology assessments.
Coverage: current
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - evidence based systematic reviews prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration which provide high quality information to people providing and receiving care and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.
EMBASE (OVID)
Indexes international biomedical and pharmaceutical journals.
Coverage: 1974 - present
EMBASE indexes international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.

Note: Access A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.
Medline
Literature in biomedicine, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Coverage: 1950 - present
Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), Medline provides citations, many with abstracts, to the world's journal literature. Sources include current biomedical journals published in more than 70 countries.
PubMed
Articles in medicine, life sciences, animal sciences, plant sciences, biomedical research, medical devices, nursing, biotechnology, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences.
Coverage: 1950 - present
PubMed is comprised of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
Find high quality clinical research evidence.
Coverage: Current
Trip is a clinical search engine allows users find high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

Scopus
Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Web of Science
Articles and citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Coverage: Varies
Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.

CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
Full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relating to business, culture, current events, education, language, agriculture, history, and politics in Canada.
Coverage: 1982 - present
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Provides comprehensive coverage of the literature related to public health and allied health disciplines.
Coverage: 1981 - present
Offers complete coverage of English language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, this database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, CINAHL offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
EconLit
Economic literature relating to business administration, economic development, economic history, industrial organization and macroeconomics.
Coverage: 1969 - present
ERIC
Indexes educational-related journals, conferences, government documents, bibliographies, and books.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Iportal: Indigenous Studies Portal
Articles, theses, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. Focusing on Indigenous peoples in Canada and the United States.
Coverage: varies
PsycINFO
Articles, dissertations and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health.
Coverage: 1840 - present
Sociological Abstracts
Articles, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.
Coverage: 1952 - present
SPORTDiscus
Articles, dissertations and books on sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, and nutrition.
Coverage: 1830 to present
Produced by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus provides citations, with selected abstracts, to the world's literature in sport and fitness including sports medicine, applied physiology, training, sport techniques, coaching, doping, biomechanics, sport management, economics, history, biography, physical fitness and recreation.
Note: Access A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.