French Studies: Books

Library catalogues

• University of Waterloo library

• Voilà: Canadian National Catalogue

• Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec

• Bibliothèque nationale de France

• Catalogue Collectif de France

• Library of Congress

Print indexes

• Klapp, Otto. Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft

  • Coverage: 1960 to 1990. Continued by Klapp-online.

• French XX Bibliography

  • Critical and Biographical References for the Study of French Literature since 1885. 

  • Coverage: 1969 to present.

• Livres et auteurs québecois: Revue critique de l'année littéraire

  • Coverage: 1969-1982.

• Revue dl'histoire littéraire du Québec et du Canada français

  • Coverage: 1980/81-1981/82,1982-1987. Ref PS8131.Q4H57x Porter.

Book reviews

• Book Review Digest

  • Coverage includes descriptive summaries, excerpts, and full text of book reviews of foreign language books. Library has: 1905 to present.

• ChoiceReviews.online

  • Reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to higher education by subject experts. Library has: Sept. 1988-. Type: Review Database, Full Text

• Factiva

  • Provides full text, same-day and archival coverage of over 9000 sources from 118 countries in 22 languages.
    Search by keywords to retrieve reviews. Library has: Varies with newspaper. In Library login with your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password. type: Newspaper Database, Full Text

• JSTOR

  • Rich in book reviews, the database contains the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and other disciplines. Library has: Coverage varies by journal. Excludes the last 3-5 years (moving wall). type: Journal Database, Full Text

• NexisUni

  • Provides same-day and archival coverage of news and legal sources from the world. Search by keywords to retrieve reviews. Library has: Varies by database. In Library login with your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password. type: Newspaper Database, Full Text.

• Complete Review

  • Links to book review sites in French.

• H-France Reviews

  • Source of scholarly reviews from 2001 onward.

• H-Net Reviews

  • A scholarly review resource for Humanities and Social Sciences publications. Features a browsable and/or searchable online archive of reviews.

• Lire.fr

  • A portal about authors, literature and timely issues.

Waterloo faculty monographs

Current

Collington, Tara

• Lectures chronotopiques espace, temps et genres romanesques (2006)

Dubeau, Catherine

• Lettre et la mère : roman familial et écriture de la passion chez Suzanne Necker et Germaine de Staël (2013)

Gauthier, Nicolas

• Lire la ville, dire le crime : Mise en scène de la criminalité dans les mystères urbains de 1840 à 1860 (2017)

Lappin-Fortin, Kerry

• La traduction : un pont de départ (2017)

Lepage, Élise

• Géographie des confins : espace et écriture chez Pierre Morency, Pierre Nepveu et Louis Hamelin (2016)

Miraglia, Anne Marie

• L'écriture de l'autre chez Jacques Poulin (1993)
• Des voix contre le silence (2005)

Nolette, Nicole

• Jouer la traduction : théâtre et hétérolinguisme au Canada francophone (2015)

Poirier, Guy

• L'homosexualité dans l'imaginaire de la Renaissance (1996)
• Henri III de France en mascarades imaginaires : mœurs, humeurs et comportements d'un roi de la Renaissance (2010)

Retired

Paré, François

• Les littératures de l'exiguïté (1992)

• Theories de la fragilité (1994)

• Traversées : lettres (2000)

• Frontières flottantes : lieu et espace dans les cultures francophones du Canada (2001)

• La distance habité (2003)

• Le fantasme d'Escanaba (2007)

Russell, Delbert

• Anne Hébert (1983)

• Légendier apostolique anglo-normand (1989)

Ryan, Robert

• Une analyse phonologique d'un parler acadien de la Nouvelle-Ecosse (Canada) : (région de la Baie Sainte-Marie) (1981)

• Analyse morphologique du groupe verbal du parler franco-acadien de la Baie Sainte-Marie, Nouvelle-Ecosse (Canada) (1982)

Socken, Paul

• Concordance de Bonheur d'occasion de Gabrielle Roy (1982)

• Myth and Morality in "Alexandre Chenevert" by Gabrielle Roy (1987)

• The Myth of the Lost Paradise in the Novels of Jacques Poulin (1993)

• Gabrielle Roy aujourd'hui (2003)

French call number ranges

• D – History of Europe

  • DC – history of France

• F – History of the Americas

  • F1001-1145.2 – history of Canada

  • F1170 – history of French America

• P – Language and literature

  • P – philology and linguistics

  • PC – Romance languages

    • PC2001-3761 – French language

  • PQ – Romance literature

    • PQ1-3999 – French literature

  • PS – American literature

    • PS8001-8599 – Canadian literature (English and French)