Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French Studies: Francophonie

Africa, Caribbean

Dictionaries and Encyclopædias

   Africa

  • Chaulet-Achour, Christiane. Dictionnaire des écrivains francophones classiques : Afrique subsaharienne, Caraïbe, Maghreb, Machrek, Océan Indien.
    • Ref PQ3897 .C43x 2010 Porter.
  • Déjeux, Jean. Dictionnaire des auteurs maghrébins de langue française.
    • PQ3981.D44x 1984 Porter.
  • Dictionnaire des œuvres algériennes en langue française : Essais, romans, nouvelles, contes, récits, autobiographiques, théatre, poésie, récits pour enfants.
    • PQ3988.5.A5D53 1990 Porter.
  • Dictionnaire des œuvres littéraires négro-africaines de langue française : Des origines à 1978.
    • Ref PQ3980.D52x 1983 Porter.
  • Kom, Ambroise. Dictionnaire des œuvres littéraires de langue française en Afrique au sud du Sahara.
    • Ref PQ3980.A52 K65 1996 Porter.
  • Pius Ngandu Nkashama. Dictionnaire des œuvres littéraires africaines de langue française.
    • Ref PQ3980.A52P58 1994 Porter. Organised by genre, subdivided by author, then chronologically by title. Excludes authors from North Africa.

   Caribbean

  • Caribbean Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical-Critical Encyclopedia.
    • PN849.C3C3 1979 Porter.
  • Encyclopedia of Caribbean literature
    • Ref PN849.C3 E53 2006 Porter.

Biographies

  • Luthi, Jean-Jacques. Dictionnaire général de la francophone.
    • Ref DC33.9.L87 1986 Porter.

Language dictionaries

  • Baggioni, Daniel. Dictionnaire créole réunionnais/français.
    • PM7854.R4B34 1990 Porter.
  • Duclos, Jeanne. Dictionnaire du français d'Algérie.
    • PC3566.D83 1992 Porter.

Retrospective bibliographies

   General

  • Répertoire bibliographique sur la langue française et sur la francophonie.
    • Ref Z2175.A2R46x 1989 Porter

   Africa

  • Baratte-Eno Belinga, Thérèse. Bibliographie, auteurs africains et malgaches de langue française.
    • PQ3980.B37x 1972 Porter.
  • Bibliographie des auteurs africains de langue française.
    • PQ3980.B37x 1979 Porter.
  • Cherchari, Amar. Réception de la littérature africaine d'expression française jusqu'en 1970 : Essai de bibliographie.
    • PQ3980.C44x 1982 Porter.
  • Dugas, Guy. Bibliographie critique de la littérature judéeo-maghrébine d'expression française : 1896-1990.
    • PQ3988.5.N6D85x 1992 Porter.
  • Pius Ngandu Nkashama. Les années littéraires en Afrique.
    • PQ3980.P58x 1993 Porter.

   Caribbean

  • Bissainthe, Max. Dictionnaire de bibliographie haïtienne. Premier supplément.
    • Ref Z1531.B5 Suppl. 1973 Porter.

Histories and criticism

   Comprehensive

  • Combe, Dominique. Littérature francophones : questions débats, polémiques.
    • PQ305 .C637x 2010 Porter.
  • Frindéthié, Martial Kokroa. The Black Renaissance in Francophone African and Caribbean Literatures.
    • PQ3980.5 .F75 2008 Porter.
  • Introduction aux littératures francophones : Afrique, Caraïbe, Maghreb.
    • PQ3809 .I57x 2004 Porter.
  • Jack, Belinda Elizabeth. Francophone Literatures: An Introduction Survey.
    • PQ3809.J33 1996 Porter.
  • Postures postcoloniales : domaines africains et antillais.
    • PQ3897 .P675x 2012 Porter.

   Africa

  • African Francophone Writing: A Critical Introduction.
    • PQ3988.5.N6A43 1996 Porter.
  • Bourget, Carine. The Star, the Cross, and the Crescent: Religions and Conflicts in Francophone Literature from the Arab World.
    • PQ3980.5 .B68 2010 Porter.
  • Chevrier, Jacques. Littératures francophones d'Afrique noire.
    • PQ3980 .C49x 2006 Porter.
  • Conteh-Morgan, John. Theatre and Drama in Francophone Africa: A Critical Introduction.
    • PQ3983.C66 1994 Porter.
  • Hausser, Michel. Littératures francophones. III, Afrique noire, océan indien.
    • PQ3980 .H38x 1998 Porter.
  • Hawkins, Peter. Protée noir : Essais sur la littérature de l'Afrique noire et des Antilles.
    • PQ3980.P68 1992 Porter.
  • Jules-Rosette, Bennetta. Black Paris: The African Writers' Landscape.
    • PQ3981.J85 1998 Porter.
  • Miller, Christopher L. Nationalists and Nomads: Essays on Francophone African Literature and Culture.
    • PQ3980.M548 1998 Porter.
  • Noiray, Jacques. Littératures francophones. I, Le Maghreb.
    • PQ3988.5.N6 N64x 1996 Porter.
  • Ricard, Alain. Littératures d'Afrique noire : Des langues aux livres.
    • PL8010.R53x 1995 Porter.
  • Traversées franco-maghrébines
    • PQ3897 .T74x 2013 Porter.

   Caribbean

  • Antoine, Régis. La littérature franco-antillaise.
    • PQ3940.A85 1992 Porter.
  • Caribbean Writers: Between Orality and Writing
    • PN849.C3C37x 1994 Porter.
  • Corzani, Jack. Littérature francophones. II, Les Amériques : Haïti, Antilles-Guyane, Québec.
    • PQ3897 .C67x 1998 Porter.
  • Almeida, Irène Assiba d'. Francophone African Women Writers.
    • PQ3980.5.A46 1994 Porter.
  • Cazenave, Odile Marie. Femmes rebelles : Naissance d'un nouveau roman africain au féminin.
    • PQ3984.C39 1996 Porter.
  • The Francophone Caribbean Today: Literature, Language, Culture.
    • PQ3940 .F73x 2003 Porter.
  • Helm, Yolande. L'eau: Source d'une écriture dans les littératures féminines francophones.
    • PQ149.H45 1995 Porter.
  • Postcolonial Subjects: Francophone Women Writers
    • PQ149.P57 1996 Porter.
  • Stratton, Florence. Contemporary African Literature and the Politics of Gender.
    • PR9340.5.S77 1994 Porter. Women Authors

Websites

Journals

   Print

  • Australian Journal of French Studies
    • Library has: 1965 to present. Per PQ1.A8 Porter.
  • Callaloo
    • Library has: v. 17 (1994)-v. 23 (2000). Per NX506.C34 Porter.
  • Présence africaine
    • Library has: 1962 to present. Per GN645.P74 Porter.
  • Yale French Studies
    • Library has: 1948 to present. Per DC1.Y3 Porter.

   Electronic