French Studies: Websites

Gateways

• French Culture (French Embassy in the United States)

  • Promotes French arts, literature and education. Emphasizes contemporary French culture in English.

• French Resources at the Library of Congress

• H-France

  • Promotes scholarly work on history and culture of the Francophone world. Operates in French and English.

• Le Quartier français du village planétaire

  • News sites, museums, government information, reference tools, literary and cultural topics, etc. In French and English.

• Ressources internet (Trésor de la langue française au Québec)

• Ressources Internet Francophones (CUNY)

• TennesseeBob's Famous French Links – no longer active

  • Includes links to resources related to literature, history, culture, current events, and more.

• VoS - Voice of the Shuttle

  • Literatures (Other than English) page provides under the heading "French" a collection of useful links.

• Finding French and Francophone Special Collections

  • Database of special collections assembled by CIFNAL

• Study in France: https://www.study.eu/country/france

  • ​​​A general country guide

Literature

• Études littéraires

  • A directory of literary sites.

• Femmes ecrivains et les littératures africaines

  • An overview of African women writers writing in French, South of the Sahara.

• Francophone Literature

  • A subject guide from the Bosbst Library, NYU.  The emphasis is on North Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and the Caribbean.

• Francophone Resources: Francophone literature and culture by area (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

• French Studies: Languages, Literatures and Cultures (State University of New York, University at Albany)

• L'île: L'infocentre littéraire des écrivains québécois

• Littérature: explications de textes

19th century

• DIX-NEUF: Ressources sur le dix-neuvième siècle

  • Maintained by the Centres d'Études du 19e Siècle Français at the University of Toronto, this site has excellent links to 19th century writers, as well as many other 19th century resources by subject.

Language and Linguistics

• Francophonie (Government of Canada)

  • "Everything you have ever wanted to know about Canadian and international Francophonie can be found here."

• French Language Resources: ACADEMIC INFO

  • Online resources for learning to read & write French.

• Grammaire française

  • For those learning French as foreign language.

• iLoveLanguages

  • A guide to language resources on the web, including French.

• Linguistic Resources: SIL

• Trésor de la langue française au Québec

  • Provides scholarly information for research in history and usage of French in Québec.

• Office Québecois de la langue française (French Canadian)

  • The use and defense of French language in North America

• Ressources linguistiques en français québécois

  • Links to useful resources for learning Quebec French.

• Live Lingua

  • A compilation of free language learning materials.

Online courses

• Bonjour de France

  • An educational cybre-magazine that offers exercises, tests, and games for learning French.

• Le Point du FLE

  • Numerous links to learning and teaching French.

Professional organizations

• Association des bibliothécaires de France (ABF)

• ACÉF-XIX: Association canadienne des études francophones du XIXe siècle

• ALCQ-ACQL: Association des littératures canadiennes et québécoises - Association for Canadian and Quebec Literatures

• APFUCC: Association des professeur.e.s de français des universités et collèges canadiens

• American Association of Teachers of French (AATF)

• CAN / FIPF

• Fédération internationale des Professeurs de français (FIPF)

• Modern Language Association (MLA)

• Ressources internet: Centres de recherche, organismes linguistiques et associations (Trésor de la langue française au Québec)

Discussion lists

• Afrique

  • Access: to subscribe, e-mail listserv@univ-lyon1.fr. Message: "SUBSCRIBE Afrique firstname lastname".

• Francofil

  • A bilingual discussion forum for scholars and teachers. Topics covered: linguistics, philosophy, history, social topics, and teaching.

Other