Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this guide
This guide describes the Library's resources and services relevant to the research and teaching done by the
History Department, University of Waterloo.
Omni, the Library's catalogue
Try searching in
Omni, the Library's catalogue. You will find books, chapters in books, articles, reports, and more.
Tip: select the second radio button to limit your results to electronic.
Top three search strategies
This infographic shows you how "quotation marks" and wild card (?) and truncation (*) symbols can make a big difference in the results you retrieve.
Encyclopedias, biographies, bibliographies
The American National Biography features Billie Holiday; Mark Twain; Jacqueline Onassis; Malcolm X, ... And SO many more.
Find articles on your topic that historians have published. From your search results, click on
"Get it @ Waterloo" to link to the articles subscribed to by Waterloo Library.
America History and Life
Identifies articles, book reviews, and dissertations on American and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Coverage: mid 1950s - present
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Indexes historical scholarship relating to the British Isles, the British Empire, and the Commonwealth. Time periods range from 55 BC.
Coverage: 1901 - present
Articles, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Coverage: 1955 - present
International Medieval Bibliography
An interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 400-1500.
Coverage: 1967 - present
Tri-U History Graduate program: library resources and services
Access to resources at each of the three libraries
... is available to members of the
Tri-University History Graduate program. Check your university to register and log in to the other sites.
History research guides of the other Tri-U History Libraries
Explore the history-related resources held by the other libraries in the program.
More information about the Tri-U History Libraries