We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
About this page
Guides on writing history essays
Be an organized writer
- Strategies for Organizing your Information for your Literature ReviewUWLibrary's infographic (1 page)
- Avoid Plagiarism, or How to Successfully use the Works of OthersTips on paraphrasing, summarizing, quoting, using data, and using images.
- Assignment plannersAdvice on writing and submitting on time:
- Annotated bibliographies
- Research essays
- Policy briefs
- Literature reviews
- Critical reflections
- Article reviews
Annotated bibliographies
Try using this step by step way to build an annotated bibliography:
- Annotated Bibliography Assignment PlannerThis tool guides you through the steps of building an annotated bibliography AND it calculates how much time to spend on each component in order to get the assignment completed by the due date.
Reference management software
Programs such as RefWorks, Zotero, and Mendeley can make citing sources and generating bibliographies in proper format simpler for researchers.
- Compare different reference / citation management systemsThis chart comes from the University of Toronto.
Writing and Communication Centre
UWaterloo's Writing and Communication Centre
Meet with teaching associates about any writing project. Work with them on:
- writing anything from a memo to a dissertation
- learning how to revise, edit, and proofread
- organizing your thoughts and ideas
- incorporating your research and citing sources
Chicago Manual of Style and other writing guides
- Chicago Manual of Style, 2017, 17th editionChapter 14 covers the Notes and Bibliography style
- Quick Citation Guide: Chicago Manual of Style's Notes & Bibliographya guide from the Chicago Manual of Style
- Citing Primary Sources: Chicagovia the Library of Congress
- Evidence ExplainedCiting History Sources from Artifacts to Cyberspace, 2017
Establish yourself as an author
1. Create your open researcher identification
Consider creating an Open Researcher and Contributor ID. ORCiD provides you with a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
- ORCiD enables you to obtain a unique 16 digit identification number that can be used to tie you to your work.
2. Know your author rights
- Author Rights (UWaterloo Library guide)
Your Rights, and Keeping Them; Publishing Considerations; Theses Concerns
3. Submit your work for publication
- These 2 tools can help you choose where to submit articles
- Consider submitting to a UWaterloo Library-hosted journal
For example: "The Sankofa Journal of Interdisciplinary Studies is a peer-reviewed journal that supports the amplification of subaltern and marginalized voices at the University of Waterloo. The journal encourages submissions from all University of Waterloo communities (staff, faculty, undergraduate, and graduate students) from across all faculties and disciplines. Sankofa encourages us to 'look back' to 'move forward' by challenging traditional and eurocentric ideals of scholarship. We seek interdisciplinary works (original content that is rooted with-in and with-out the academe) that are rooted in praxis."