Research guides: History Research Guide: Articles

Databases that track peer-reviewed articles relating to history

America History and Life
Identifies articles, book reviews, and dissertations on American and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Coverage: mid 1950s - present

Note: A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Indexes historical scholarship relating to the British Isles, the British Empire, and the Commonwealth. Time periods range from 55 BC.
Coverage: 1901 - present

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Indexes books, articles, and government documents about Indigenous peoples of North America, covering the 1500s to the present.
Coverage: 1500s - present

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Black Studies Center
Contains historical and current material and analysis relating to African-Americans, Africans, and the wider African Diaspora.
Coverage: 1800s - present

Included are: *Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience in-depth essays examine interdisciplinary topics on the African experience throughout the Americas.

*International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.

*The Chicago Defender the full text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.

*ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies dissertations and Masters' theses examining a wide variety of topics and subject areas relating to Black Studies. Included are dissertations written between 1970 and 2004 at over 100 universities and colleges across the United States.

*Black Literature Index fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
Full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relating to business, culture, current events, education, language, agriculture, history, and politics in Canada.
Coverage: 1982 - present

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
ERIC - U.S. Department of Education platform
Indexes educational-related journals, conferences, government documents, bibliographies, and books.
Coverage: 1966 - present

Sponsored by the United States Department of Education.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Publications relating to women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Coverage: 1991 - present

The time period: 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. with Russia extending to 1613. The geographic areas: Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. Publications are in English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
GenderWatch
Find research on a wide range of gender issues relating to women, men, two spirit, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, and asexual (2SLGBTQ+). Topics include sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
Coverage: 1970 - present

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
German Canadiana in Ontario Bibliography (GCO)
Identifies documents relaying the experiences of German speakers and their descendants in Ontario. Sources cover historical, literary, cultural, linguistic, and biographical aspects.
Coverage: 1800s - present

The content draws from a range of sources, including Elizabeth Bloomfield's Waterloo Regional History Bibliography System. GCO is a joint project of Waterloo Centre for German Studies and University of Waterloo Library and will be continuously updated, as new information becomes available.

Note: Access: German Canadiana in Ontario Bibliography is available to all users.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
HeinOnline
Articles on law and legal history, court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from Canadian, U.S. and UK jurisdictions.
Coverage: varies

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Historical Abstracts

Articles, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Coverage: 1955 - present

Note: A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
History of Feminism
Search for primary sources and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, journal articles, and essays.
Coverage: Primary sources: 1776-1928; Secondary sources: 1978 - 2016

Themes include: politics and law; religion and belief; education; literature and writings; women at home; society and culture; Empire; and movements and ideologies.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
History of Science Technology and Medicine
Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and related historical fields.
Coverage: 1975 - present

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective
Indexes nearly 1200 periodicals, including many of the most important scholarly journals published in North America and Europe.
Coverage: 1907 - 1984

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Indigenous Collection (Informit)
Multidisciplinary topics relating to Indigenous peoples from around the world. Includes journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings.
Coverage: 1920s - present

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
International Medieval Bibliography

An interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 400-1500.
Coverage: 1967 - present

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Internet Archive Scholar

Search for open access scholarly/research materials on all subjects.Text and data mining is permitted.
Coverage: 1750s - present

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
ITER
Indexes articles, books, reviews, catalogues, and conference proceedings about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Coverage: 1945 - present

Iter, meaning 'a journey' or 'a path' in Latin, is a non-profit research project with partners in Toronto (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe, Arizona. The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the creation of online bibliographic databases. Iter has been made available through the Ontario Scholars Portal collection of databases. The Journals database is an electronic bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Citations for articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies are included. To date, the full runs of 518 scholarly journal titles, published since 1853, have been indexed. Journals and essay collections indexed Subject access to selected materials pertaining to the Renaissance (1300-1700), published since 1990, is available via Library of Congress Subject Headings
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
JSTOR

Provides access to back issues of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences, many of which date from the 1800s.
Coverage: varies (excludes current 3 to 5 years)

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
LGBTQ+ Source
Find magazines, journals, books and news sources, and also coverage for grey literature such as case studies and speeches.
Coverage: Varies

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
PAIS International
Indexes public and social policy literature on business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences.
Coverage: 1915 - present

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

What is a history journal?

Anatomy of a History Journal
Take 20 minutes to explore the structure and content of a typical history journal. Check your knowledge with the activities that are included.

Evaluate a journal

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Find detailed, comprehensive information on journals, magazines and other periodicals published throughout the world.
Coverage: current

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory indicates whether a publication is refereed (peer-reviewed) and lists the indexes and abstracts that include the publication.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

Journal Citation Reports
Find quantifiable data relating to the relative importance of journals within their subject categories. Covers all disciplines.
Coverage: 1997 - present

The Journal Citation Reports (JCR) module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

In Journal Citation Reports, use the left navigation bar to select and generate a list of journals by subject that shows each journal's citation totals and impact factor.

Order articles from other libraries

Use our interlibrary loan form
Request articles not subscribed to by Waterloo. Scanned copies will be emailed to you in 3-7 business days.

Research guides by subject

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!