We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Indigenous resources for UWaterloo historians
This page points to resources relating to the history of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples. The geographic and temporal coverage focus mainly but not exclusively on what is now Canada from the time of colonial settlement.
As with many academic disciplines in Canada, History has contributed to the othering of Indigenous Peoples. Too often, colonialist research methods have positioned Indigenous Peoples as the object of study. Approaching research about Indigenous Peoples ethically begins by recognizing that Indigenous communities are alive and vibrant, and are stewards of their own knowledge. Even the conceptualization of “Indigenous Peoples” needs to be considered with care: there many different Indigenous cultures and people in Canada. Indigenous Peoples do not exist as a monolith and Indigenous ways of knowing can differ between groups and cultures. It is important to be specific about the particular group or culture you are engaging.
The sections cover:
- The Haldimand Treaty of 1784
- Article and book (secondary) sources
- Primary sources: Indigenous peoples in Canada
- Find more resources
A work in progress:
This page reflects the ongoing work of Mike Chee, UWaterloo's history librarian. Mike (he/him) is a mixed-race settler Canadian, who acknowledges the Western-centric dominance in many areas of UWaterloo Library's history collection. He is committed to rectifying this imbalance by informing himself about Indigenous ways of knowing and by acquiring and making available Indigenous voices, scholarship, and research methodologies that are missing or difficult to find.
Feedback about the page?
Contact Mike Chee, History Librarian, with any thoughts or recommendations.
The Haldimand Treaty of 1784
Ken Whytock: "A pair of Haldimand Tract maps" CC license
Databases relating to Indigenous studies
This list of over 20 databases covers a mix of scholarly and primary sources across many disciplines and timeframes.
Selected Indigenous historians' perspectives
- Shekon Neechie"... “Historian” in this case is broadly defined as a person who researches and presents Indigenous histories in essays, stories, photographs, videos, podcasts, or through other means and whose work is based in oral history and traditions, archival research, archaeology, and material interpretation..."
- A Syllabus for History After the TRCFrom the Canadian Historical Association. "We have sought to emphasize work by Indigenous scholars and, as a general rule, work published within the last two decades. We are well aware that this is a partial syllabus, both in scope and execution." -- August 22, 2019
- Can Indigenous Oral Tradition Be Reconciled with the Documentary Record?Parmenter, Jon. “The Meaning of Kaswentha and the Two Row Wampum Belt in Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) History: Can Indigenous Oral Tradition Be Reconciled with the Documentary Record?” Journal of Early American History 3, no. 1 (2013): 82–109.
Primary sources: Indigenous peoples in Canada
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America (formerly American Indian Newspapers)A collection of papers from Indigenous peoples in the United States and Canada.
Coverage: 1828 - 2016 - CanadianaFind documents from 1st European contact to recent student activism, including items relating to Indigenous-settler relations, cookbooks, women's writings, and more.
Coverage: Pre-1970
- Data on Racialized PopulationsThis guide consists of a curated list of datasets that include ethnicity and race variables which can be used to facilitate anti-racism research in Canada.
Via Scholars Portal: a service of the Ontario Council of University Libraries.
Coverage: 2000s - present - Gateway to Aboriginal Heritagevia the Canadian Museum of Civilization.
- Indian Affairs Annual ReportsCoverage: 1864 - 1990
- Indigenous Peoples materialsvia Special Collections & Archives, Dana Porter Library
- Indigenous Peoples of North AmericaFacilitates the study of invasion and colonization. Find materials relating to customs, dance, music, warfare, peace treaties, removal grants, legends, and myths.
Coverage: 1600s - 2000s
- Indigenous Studies PortalLink to books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, and maps.
- Kitchitwa miteh atchimomasinahiganisaCatholic newsletter published in Alberta. Articles in Cree, French, and English.
Coverage: 1906 - 1920 - Native LandAn interactive map that identifies traditional territories of Indigenous peoples and their Western/colonial names.
- North American Indian Thought and CultureBiographies, autobiographies, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories on Indigenous peoples of North America.
Coverage: 17th century - present
- Our Voices.ca & Omushkego Oral History ProjectAudio files of stories of the Omushkegowak ("Swampy Cree") people of the Hudson and James Bay Lowlands of northern Manitoba and Ontario. In Cree and English.
- Peel's Prairie ProvincesSearch digitized books and newspaper issues that date back to the exploration and settlement of the Canadian west.
Coverage: 1800s - present - Royal Commission Report on Aboriginal PeoplesFinal report 1996
- Residential School Files SeriesDepartment of Indian Affairs. Contains admission and discharge records of students as well as files on the establishment of individual schools.
Look for the "Help" link to find a pdf file that lists specific volumes, schools, and agencies and the corresponding microfilm reel number.
Coverage: 1879 - 1953 - Treaties, Surrenders and AgreementsFinal report 2015
... via the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation - Windspeaker (digital archive)Coverage: 1986 - 2015